How to KEEP root

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Se7enLC, Dec 11, 2009.

  1. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has there been any discussion on how to KEEP root access now that we have it? Perhaps installing an extra copy of su somewhere that we can access it but unlikely for a system update to overwrite it? Some kind of backdoor like that would let us allow OTA updates, since we can always turn root back on and fix any changes that the update makes.
  2. jinx10000
    Offline

    jinx10000 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    According to several people, you can rename the file

    /system/etc/security/otacerts.zip to otacerts.zip.bak

    This will prevent updates from verifying and being applied.
  3. s2k_848
    Offline

    s2k_848 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting...I just root mine today.
  4. killher
    Offline

    killher New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ive rooted my phone but im still fairly unfamiliar with the coding, could someone write out the commands for me so i can do this. its appreciated.
  5. jinx10000
    Offline

    jinx10000 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks like someone just wrote a recovery image that can flash any update.zip.

    It won't be long before a rom will come out that prevents this automatically.

    As to your question:

    I use adb and installed busybox. I don't know if you have to mount the system folder before you can change it in terminal.

    In adb with busy box I typed.
    su
    cp /system/etc/security/otacerts.zip /system/etc/security/otacerts.zip.bak
    rm /system/etc/security/otacerts.zip

    You can use terminal without busybox but I don't remember the commands off the top of my head.
  6. boostdscoob
    Offline

    boostdscoob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    cannot stat error in better terminal emulator.. anyone that can put this in for terminal?
    im pretty sure you have to mount, just like in the rename post by jarek.
  7. boostdscoob
    Offline

    boostdscoob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    ok, got the code for terminal, just put it in, and SU shows it to now be otacerts.zip.bak
    here it is

    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    cd /system/etc/security
    mv otacerts.zip otacerts.zip.bak
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system

    sync

    reboot
  8. jinx10000
    Offline

    jinx10000 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I read on another thread that you want to put your phone in airplane mode when you do this.

    I am not sure why, but if it gets interupted it could cause problems.
  9. boostdscoob
    Offline

    boostdscoob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    worked fine for me, but worth a try i guess. definitely cant try to update once you change it with it in airplane mode, no issues here though, for the brave and unstupid.lol
  10. jinx10000
    Offline

    jinx10000 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One more warning. After you do this I would not do anything crazy to your phone.

    If you lose root for some reason and this is renamed you will not be able to rename it and get future updates.

    I also renamed mine with no problems and am awaiting a solid recovery image before playing around...
  11. boostdscoob
    Offline

    boostdscoob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    well, not neccessarily jinx.. you can simply reapply the update manually.. should fix the filenames automatically.
  12. jinx10000
    Offline

    jinx10000 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is a person on another forum that claims to have bricked his phone by doing the following.

    Rooted
    Rename OTACERTS.zip
    Deleted something - Phone went into a boot loop
    Didn't set SU to auto allow.
    Then he did a factory reset which caused him to not have USB debugging.

    Now he can't reflash because OTACERTS is missing. Maybe he got that fixed. It was a few days ago when I read that.
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2009
  13. boostdscoob
    Offline

    boostdscoob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    wow, sucks to be dumb.
    **** happens, but these noobs are going crazy with stupid questions. they think root is god power for the droid,lol
    like i said. its no ones fault but their own.
  14. killher
    Offline

    killher New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wow, thanks guys. ive never had such a quicky reply to a post. it worked really well as far as i can tell.... so far. haha.
  15. Breezer23
    Offline

    Breezer23 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    So.... from what I gathered the jury is still up as to whether this should be done or not... I don't want to lose what I have but at the same rate if this doesn't work... what's the point?
  16. jinx10000
    Offline

    jinx10000 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    from what o have read, there is little question that this will work. just be careful after you do it.
  17. boostdscoob
    Offline

    boostdscoob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    This very much works. The ota update can't locate the file, so therefore cannot download. This will work till custom roms and recovery comes out. Just in case.
  18. boostdscoob
    Offline

    boostdscoob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    the hole that allows root has been patched. might be worth trying, might not. im keeping my root access.. thats for sure
  19. Bear in NM
    Offline

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Boost,

    Perhaps my google/yahoo fu is weak, but I could not find anything about the root patch being closed by VZW. Any way you could elaborate?

    Thanks,

    Craig

    Edit:

    Disregard, I think I found it. If I am understanding this page, these folks are the responsible parties for fixing what is broke?

    https://review.source.android.com/#change,12807

    So, I am also speculating that if I now get my OTA that I will not be able to re-root? What to do, what to do........I guess I will wait and see if I even get the modified OTA, then decide.
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2009
  20. boostdscoob
    Offline

    boostdscoob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    no, it will be fixed, and included in the next update
Search tags for this page
/system/etc/security then rename otacerts.zip to otacerts.zi
,
/system/etc/security/otacerts.zip set permissions
,
android otacerts.zip location
,
can't rename otacerts.zip
,
how to find /etc/security/otacerts.zip on phone
,
how to save root access droid
,
otacerts read only file system
,
otacerts zip
,

otacerts.zip

,
otacerts.zip.bak
,
where is otacerts.zip
,
won't let me rename otacert