How to install ubuntu on a droid.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by crabs, Jul 13, 2010.

  1. crabs

    crabs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ubuntu faced some challenges I got it to work with Debian instead. Feel free to read through this thread as there is some good info, but I've asked to have it closed to further comments and the discussion will take place in this thread here with the correct instructions.

    Props to Chris for this message.






    I have been doing this since 2009 (On a G1) and recently heard that I'm one of the only ones who has done it (Droid).


    You will need,
    A kernel made by chevy or any other kernel with ext2 support (May need to alter guide)
    The ext2 update from here also
    A froyo rom (I'm using bb 0.4)
    Android terminal

    Debian files torrent http://torrents.thepiratebay.org/5703656/Debian_droid_android.5703656.TPB.torrent


    Flash chevys kernel + ext2 module.
    Dl and copy the debian folder to the root of the sdcard.
    Open android terminal and type
    Code:
    su
    Then
    Code:
    cd /sdcard/debian
    Then
    Code:
     sh ./debian.sh
    Then
    Code:
    bootdebian
    Then
    Code:
    start
    Now download and open up android vnc and put in

    nickname: linux
    address: localhost
    password: crabsvnc
    Color format: 24 bit
    Then press connect and Ta Da.

    Nice and simple right?



    Troubleshooting:
    Format sdcard ( I had to do this alot)

    Make sure you installed and did everything correctly.

    MAKE SURE ALL APPS ARE ON PHONE AND NOT SDCARD. (I had to do this with androidvnc)
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2010
  2. Kronix

    Kronix New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Woah. Nice work kid. props
     
  3. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am so doing this tomorrow.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  4. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Right behind you Tank! I'm running out of hours in the day.

    Great write up crabs, thanks.
     
  5. 1quickv6

    1quickv6 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This needs to be Sticky. Great write-up and one that I will surely revisit.
     
  6. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
  7. B3y0ndD34th

    B3y0ndD34th Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried things your way and this is what I get

    ##su
    #bootubuntu

    EXT2 loaded!

    ioctl LOOP_SET_FD failed: Device or resource busy
    mount: No such file or directory
    mount: No such file or directory
    mount: No such file or directory
    net.ipv4.ip_forward = 1
    Setting /etc/resolv.conf to Google Open DNS 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.8.4
    bootubuntu: cannot create /data/local/mnt/etc/resolv.conf: directory nonexistant
    bootubuntu: cannot create /data/local/mnt/etc/resolv.conf: directory nonexistant
    Setting localhost on /etc/hosts
    bootubuntu: cannot create /data/local/mnt/etc/hosts: directory nonexistant
    READY TO ROCK AND ROLL BABY!
    Brought to you by NexusOneHacks.net and the open source community!
    Chevy is a crab.

    chroot: can't execute '/bin/bash': No such file or directory

    Shutting down Ubuntu
    failed.
    failed.
    failed.
    failed.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2010
  8. jxspence

    jxspence New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I will give this a shot today. How is the performance in your experience?


    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  9. crabs

    crabs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0


    You didn't install the ext2 module.

    Read the post.
     
  10. Tanknspank

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Downloading the files now... Can't wait to try this out.
     
  11. Droidfish

    Droidfish Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Deep South of NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice. Can't wait to try this out

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  12. jlangerud

    jlangerud New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got the same as well.
    I downloaded and installed the module though and still got this.

     
  13. sneaky_zekey

    sneaky_zekey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    do we need to do port forwarding if we are behind a router
     
  14. B3y0ndD34th

    B3y0ndD34th Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's not true I followed your directions to a T. it connects find to the EXT2, two lines above "ioctl Loop..." it says EXT2 loaded!

    Just to be sure I tried re-installing EXT2 and running the commands again with the same output.
     
  15. crabs

    crabs Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will check into this issue now. (Whenever the module is installed it should say ext loaded when you run that.)

    But I will wipe and follow my directions.

    I confirm there is a strange thing going on.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2010
Search tags for this page
can't umount /data/local/mnt/external sd
,
droid x ubuntu
,
droid3 debian
,
ioctl loop set fd failed: device or resource busy
,
mount: mounting /storage on /data/local/mnt/external sd fail
,
ubuntu droid
,
ubuntu droid 1
,
ubuntu on droid 1
,
ubuntu on droid 3
,

ubuntu on droid x