[HACKS] [HOW-TO] Install Safestrap and Create a Backup

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by guidot, Nov 8, 2011.

  1. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    I don't know what you mean? I thought you had it installed already?
     
  2. trebor_edwards

    trebor_edwards New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I do, but when I installed I had put it on the removable sd instead of the internal, and didn't know if it needs the sd mounted to run.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  3. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    No, it installs it on the system memory, not the removable card.
     
  4. cvhovey

    cvhovey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Christmas Valley, Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not able to get find a Safestrap download on Hashcode's site with a md5sum match. Actually, there are 2 different links over there, 1.04 and then 1.05 on the download page, both with the same md5sum. Do you know of an alternate download site?
     
  5. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    I've downloaded 1.04 from his site without issue.

    Sent from my Safestrapped, Rooted, ROM'd XT862
     
  6. cvhovey

    cvhovey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Christmas Valley, Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^ Okay, I guess I'll just stick with bootstrap for the present time. After downloading Safestrap with 3 different browsers, each show md5sum of 17ae401d2863db9c7db10c0dc0f9eae5, which differs from the posted md5sum. Thanks anyway.
     
  7. acoers

    acoers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah ive tried downloading safestrap multiple times but have had no luck. I can only have luck with bootstrap.
     
  8. cvhovey

    cvhovey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Christmas Valley, Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hashcode just said: "Fixed md5sums on the site. Look for 1.06 here [his site] in a bit. Bugfix for image warning."
     
  9. davros

    davros Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Worcester MA
    Ratings:
    +32
    daaaayyyuuummm thats easy lol

    1.06 works just a great ;)
     
  10. trebor_edwards

    trebor_edwards New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can I install safestrap 1.06 over 1.05 without screwing anything up?

    D3, Safestrapped, SD3 ROM
     
  11. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    You can install from either safe or non safe without a hitch.

    Sent from my Safestrapped, Rooted, ROM'd XT862
     
  12. trebor_edwards

    trebor_edwards New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got everything backed up and romd'd. Running dark droid now was on steel droid, neither worked with hdmi output, any ideas?

    Sent from my DARKDROID3
     
  13. Mungo Baobab

    Mungo Baobab Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have bootstrap (not the tweaked version) and I un-installed it, then installed safestrap 1.04 and it started giving me force close errors and said sorry it couldnt install. So i reinstalled Boot strap, ran it was able to get to the CWM load page. And hit reboot. Now my phone just sits at the Dual Core M screen. HELP!!

    Well since nothing was responding, I am doing a hard reset. I have a full CW backup from yesterday, so hopefully i can get it restored.

    Crap, still at M screen. looks like it fully bricked. might be a verizon store trip. Unless someone has an idea?
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2011
  14. Mungo Baobab

    Mungo Baobab Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay so I ended up using the Unbrick SBF program and doing a complete reload. So I am back up, and have root. So here is the question, I have backups from CWM, but they were done with Bootstrape. So I can ignore all the backup since its not important stuff. And should I just go ahead and install Safestrape and then Clockwork and do my backups that way? I am just worried that of having the same problem that got me into the mess. I will hold off and not redownload rom manger until you folks give me some direction.

    Mungo
     
  15. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Safestrap has clockwork in it.

    He has an update on his site. Its now at 1.06.
     
Search tags for this page
.salted hash
,
clockworkmod salted hash
,
droid3cwbootstrap
,
droid3safestrap-1.0.apk
,
how to use safestrap 3.11
,
install safestrap bionic
,
nandroid backup safestrap
,

safestrap

,
safestrap 1.06 download
,
safestrap droid 3