[HACKS] [HOW-TO] Install Safestrap and Create a Backup

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by guidot, Nov 8, 2011.

  1. acoers

    acoers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah when I I hit the install recovery then shut my phone off and restart it. It comes to the splash screewn and says hit the menu button which I do but then it just turns on. Am I doing something wrong? I hold the power and m when it ask for me to hit the menu.
     
  2. acoers

    acoers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I got to the menu. And hit volume upon bp tools. But then it just keeps going into boot animation over and over Again.
     
  3. acoers

    acoers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i ended up reinstalling the tweaked boostrap for the mean time. i just dont understand why after i delete bootstrap i try and do safestrap it wont let me go into do a backup or a nandroid. great now that i reinstalled bootstrap it says error while making a backup image of /system. all i want is a good backup and maybe be able to flash to maverick rom.
     
  4. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Ok well hashcode had stated that he included the bp tools function but apparently that isn't working still.

    So you could make a backup in non-safe and reboot and it was fine. But as soon as you put it in safe mode and tried to flash anything it wouldn't work?

    Or are you able to flash and then it hangs?
     
  5. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Did you have any other recovery installed before this?
     
  6. acoers

    acoers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    well im screwed now. i went back to safe strap and uninstalled boostrap and renamed the logwrappe.bin to logwrapper. And did everything and shut it off and got to the splash screen and nows its saying missing bitmap indetermente1(code1). Any idea what i messed up and how i can get back into my phone now.And also i tried a factory reset but i just goes to the splash screen and keeps going into bootlooping.
     
    #66 acoers, Nov 17, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2011
  7. fishacura

    fishacura Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you think you are bricked, I'd read this:

    [SBF] Droid 3 Fastboot files (5.5.959 and 5.6.890) - RootzWiki
     
  8. acoers

    acoers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah im trying to do that now but everytime i do it, it says my battery is low. so i got it on the charger now. i charged it for a half an hour and it was still to low. do think it will still charge the battery with the phone bricked?
     
  9. fishacura

    fishacura Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I honestly do not know the answer to that. I did read another thread a month or so ago where someone mentioned they needed to borrow a battery so maybe you'll need to do that....
     
  10. acoers

    acoers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah, well i guess ill have to use my wifes when she gets home since she has the same phone.
     
  11. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    I'm sorry it ended up like this, but the menu button is the softkey. If you hit the menu button softkey it should vibrate, then take you to recovery.
     
  12. lotzakritters

    lotzakritters Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't panic, you will get it back. The link that Fish posted works perfect. I use that method, now, cus RSD Lite didn't work for me one time.

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
clockworkmod salted hash
,
droid3cwbootstrap
,
droid3safestrap-1.0.apk
,
how to make a backup with safestrap
,
how to use safestrap 3.11
,
install safestrap bionic
,
nandroid backup safestrap
,

safestrap

,
safestrap backup
,
safestrap droid 3