How to install new firmware?

donjuma

Reaction score
Hello there,
I am new to the android community and I am facing some problems. First of all let me say I am a complete noob ( dont know what flashing is) at this so bear with me. Anyways I am trying to put Android GB 2.3.3 (Ice and Fire V.2.8) on my Motorola Milestone. I tried to back up using Rom manager but everytime I clicked back up it rebooted and gave me the triangle with the exclamation mark. So I backed up (my apps only) using Titanium Back-up. Now I put the .zip ( the eact name is iceandfire-v2.8-Milestone.zip ) in the root of my SD card. When I reboot I hold down POWER + X and then camera to get in the recovery menu. Then I have 4 options, (Reboot phone, Install Update.zip, Wipe phone, Wipe Cache). Now in the tutorial I am following it said press install Update.Zip. But when i click that it says that it could not be found at sdcard/update.zip. ( I think it is because when i first rooted my phone i made a file named update.zip but deleted it after, but thats not what im trying to install I want the new firmware. Please Help

EDIT: Basically the main problem I face is I cant get into recovery mode through Rom Manager (I have flashed the clockworkMod already). When I click it, all it does is reboot then the triangle error.

OP
D

donjuma

Reaction score
Terminal Emiulator

Maybe it is because when I first rooted my phone I did something in Terminal emulator?
All i remember was redirecting something to sdcard/update.zip

OP
D

donjuma

Reaction score
I have F;ashed Clockwork

You probably need to flash clockwork recovery again. You shouldn't see a triangle, it should go straight to a green menu.

I have done that many times I even cleared the cache and re-flashed it and immediately clicked boot into recovery and still giving error. Maybe I am doing it wrong. I open Rom Manager click the first one (which is FLASH CLOCKWORK RECOVERY) then click Milestone then it says finished I click OK and attempt to boot.