How-to: Install bugless beast for noobs!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by justinc101011, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you following this step to the "t"?



    20. Type '/system/bin/flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-0.99.2b.img'. There should be a short pause as the custom recovery image is flashed and then the command prompt will appear again. At this point, the stock recovery screen you saw in steps 6-7 has now been replaced by the one you will see in steps 29-30 and on. This recovery image was written by SirPsycoS and is shared by him at sholes.info.
     
  2. justinc101011

    justinc101011 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did it on Mountblock3.
     
  3. irepodu

    irepodu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I deleted it and re-downloaded the file. Mounted my Droid to the computer. Opened the file explorer and selected removable disk (F:) which is the Droid. There is no folder for sdcard. But I see all my other music folders. I just did a drag and drop. Re-tried those commands to a "T" and no ah-ah. Should I just start from scratch? Or can I even?
     
  4. justinc101011

    justinc101011 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think your putting the file in the root directory. Do you see the tools folder when you drop the file in your droid?
     
  5. irepodu

    irepodu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do see the "Tools" folder. And a couple of files below that is the "recovery-0.99.2b.img" file. Inside the "tools" folder there is the 0.99.1b.img file.
     
  6. drmcstford

    drmcstford Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which version on bb is better guys ? 7 or 8???
     
  7. Taylorstevens

    Taylorstevens Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to make sure, will all of my apps and what not be erased when I am done? I'm planning on trying this tomorrow
     
  8. justinc101011

    justinc101011 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nothing will be missing at all not even txts. lol Thanks
     
  9. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    It shouldn't be in the tools. It should just be on the root of the SD card. As in I:\ instead of I:\tools or whatever your drive letter is.
     
  10. drmcstford

    drmcstford Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    THIS IS AWESOME!@!!!!! HALLELUYAA should of done this when i first got it
     
  11. justinc101011

    justinc101011 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No not in tools but the file and tools should be in the same directory. Like he should be able to see the tools folder and the file.
     
  12. Taylorstevens

    Taylorstevens Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I rooted but the ninja that says superuser permission isnt in my app drawer, any ideas?
     
  13. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    You're not rooted then if you don't have the ninja.
     
  14. Taylorstevens

    Taylorstevens Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, I used the update.zip provided in the link in the OP, should I try to root again then?
     
  15. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    If you followed the instructions from Obtaining Root | Root Your Droid to the "t" and don't have the superuser permissions, I suppose you could try again..Obviously something didn't take or you didn't do something quite right or else you would have the little ninja.

    Perhaps you already had an update file there or something.....try deleting the update.zip file from the SD card and going again with a fresh download. Also pay attention when you are in recovery mode to any errors that you might or might not get.

    Make sure the update.zip file you get is from the link I posted in this post. If you try to update immediately to the Bugless Beast you won't be able to. First you have to root the droid. Then install SPrecovery, then install the update.zip for bugless beast.
     
Search tags for this page

bugless beast

,
bugless beast motorola droid
,
buglessbeast nandroid
,
how to install bugless beast on droid
,
how to root droid a855 with bugless beast
,
installing bugless beast on droid
,
pete's bugless beast