How to have a Fresh Start?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by TOPDOG954, Feb 3, 2011.

1. TOPDOG954

TOPDOG954 New Member

First things first...I am totally new to this. I heard about "Rooting" my DriodX so I have started to research. First YouTube then here. I have watched many videos and read several threads. I am determined to accomplish this, as I would love full control of the device that I paid so much for and use endlessly. With that being said, I would like to first start my "Rooting" process with a fresh, wiped clean DriodX.

Is there a step-by-step process where I can do something to the equivalent of reformatting the phone back to a condition similar to it being "out-of-the-box"??

And then....

What would be the order of process of downloading and installing the "Rooting" programs?

-z4roots (which I am confused if it is still available or not, I searched for it in the Market place and it wasn't found)

- Titanium backup (is this the correct program?)

- Koush's Droid X Bootstrapper
    (is this the correct program?)
    - Rom Manager (is this the correct program?)

is any of this done on a computer or is it straight from the phone?
  2. Droid DOES!!

Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

SBF will return it to "out of the box" condition (even removes root). Z4root was removed from the market months ago. It can still be found online though the DX's browser can get in the way at times so, you may want to dl'd it on your PC and transfer to your SD card. Or you can shoot me your email address in a Private Message (PM) and I can send you the app directly.
    Titanium Backup is to restore your apps and their data after doing data wipes between ROMs.
    Personally, I'd stay away from ROM Manager, its goofy these days. Just use the Bootstrapper and you'll be fine. Of course, we're here to help as well :)

Sent from my Vortex using DroidForums App
  3. TOPDOG954

TOPDOG954 New Member

Thank you for your advice,