how to go from a 2.0.1 ROM to a 2.1 ERE ROM?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by David., Mar 5, 2010.

  1. David.
    Offline

    David. New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been reading about how good Pete's new V.04 2.1 ERE25 ROM is and I'm thinking about making the switch, however I have a few questions first..
    I'm currently running the Smoked Glass 2.0.1 ROM, and I've read that if i want to upgrade to a 2.1 ROM i have to do a factory reset.
    Does this mean that I will lose ALL my data? Like my apps, and contacts, and everything?
    How do I go about doing a factory reset and switching to a 2.1 based ROM?

    Pardon me if these are dumb questions, but I've only changed ROM's once, and that was from stock to 2.0.1 so I didn't have to do all this mumbo jumbo of resetting and stuff. My search did not yield any concrete answers as well.

    Thanks!
     
  2. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you want to install Pete's ere25 ROM, just *literally* follow every direction on his post over at Alldroid....

    You have to wipe data, but use Astro or Titanium Backup to back up all your apps first. Your contacts, email, calender info, paid apps etc. will be restored once you sign back into your google account atfter you flash Pete's ROM.

    Trust me, its definitely worth it for ere25 IMHO....
     
  3. mach330
    Offline

    mach330 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The OC
    Ratings:
    +2
    what's the benefit of going from 2.0.1 rom to ere25 (2.1) rom? any features? or just speed?
     
  4. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think so as well.

    Make sure you do both wipe steps in Nandroid after you backup.

    Heck, I may go all the way back to stock by flashing a 2.1 SBF and build from there so everything is 2.1.

    -Mike
     
  5. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Once you try it, you'll KNOW

    Haha, yeah basically its the MOST stable and FASTEST build I've ever used so far...seriously, the first time I flashed it (I used .sbf and RSDLite) I seriously debated on not even installing SetCPU or downloading one of Chevy's kernels....no lie.

    But I gave in :icon_ devil: cause I'm addicted to SPEED
     
  6. schellbl
    Offline

    schellbl Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure I completely understand the backing up the apps. If it wipes all data, won't astro be removed and the backup gone? Or does the backup go to the sd card???

    Install Astro after the update and then the backups are there still?
     
  7. David.
    Offline

    David. New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright thanks, you guys have convinced me. I will try it and report back if I have any problems..
     
  8. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool, cool. I don't have a stock 2.1 SBF to work from, so I am waiting for someone to build me a 2.1 SBF with my boot logo.

    -Mike
     
  9. David.
    Offline

    David. New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay already confused. In Pete's thread on Alldroid it gives two main download links. One is for the update.zip (that's the ROM, right?), and the other is labeled as nandroid backup V0.3. Do I need to do anything with that download if i'm coming from 2.0.1?
     
  10. gardobus
    Offline

    gardobus Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Damnit, I reflashed over and over and finally got a ROM and theme setup that I am happy with, is fast, etc and now this fancy ERE25 comes along and is going to make me wipe and start over AGAIN!

    Note: This is the fastest evolving phone-community I've ever been a part of. It seems like every week or two there is something new. Either a new version of your favorite ROM, a leak of some apps/widgets from a new version, a new kernal, a new leaked OTA, etc. I love it.
     
  11. gardobus
    Offline

    gardobus Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    do NOT get the update.zip. That is for people coming from other ERE25 roms. If you are coming from a 2.0.1 ROM, that will NOT work. You need to do the Nandroid version.
     
  12. David.
    Offline

    David. New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay thanks for the warning, I dodged a bullet there haha.
    At what point in the process to i restore all my apps and contacts?
    I did the backup of all my apps with the Titanium restore.
     
  13. David.
    Offline

    David. New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    WHATTT
    okay so when it said to extract the folder into my nandroid folder on my sdcard, was i supposed to put it all in an folder?
    right now, i'm at the advanced nandroid restore on my droid, and it's giving me these options:
    old-BCDMRS-19700101-0001
    preinstall-BDS-19700101-0003
    preinstall-BDS-20100301-2243
    system.tar
    boot.img
    data.tar
    nandroid.md5

    Which do i choose?!
     
  14. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    is there a thread somewhere that says how to flash 2.1 with rsdlite? i know the general way how to do it, but i need the file and instructions, then can we root like normal?
     
  15. gardobus
    Offline

    gardobus Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    You were supposed to put everything in a subfolder in Nandroid. Like /sdcard/nandroid/ERE25ROM (usually the folder is already named something inside the zip).