How to go directly to webpage w/out Google?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Budarooski, Dec 28, 2009.

  1. Budarooski
    Offline

    Budarooski New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I need to go to my work's https website to install an app, but when I go to the browser and enter the URL, it ALWAYS wants to do a Google search, and since this URL is not found by Google, I can't get to the webpage.

    What am I doing wrong?
  2. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    Not sure what's happening since we don't know the url. But if you're intending to install software, its probably not going to work anyway unless its a program for the Android OS.
  3. Budarooski
    Offline

    Budarooski New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just need to install a security certificate so I can get my work email on my droid. Problem is the browser ALWAYS goes to Google first.
  4. ConqSoft
    Offline

    ConqSoft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    You must not be entering the URL correctly if it's reverting to a Google search...
  5. dylanthecat
    Offline

    dylanthecat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    If I open the browser, click on the address bar at the top, and enter a url, it goes to it just fine. If I type an incorrect url it says it can't find the page, just like a normal browser. Are you by chance hitting the microphone icon instead of the "Go"?
  6. Budarooski
    Offline

    Budarooski New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm entering it correctly. Google will bring up a bunch of links that are similar, and embedded in the links is my URL saying "could not find".

    Heck, if I enter www . cnn . com (no spaces) in the address bar and hit "Go", it goes to GOOGLE's list of cnn links! Why????

    Dolphin behaves the same, so it's not a browser issue.
  7. dylanthecat
    Offline

    dylanthecat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I am trying to reproduce this on my phone. Are you hitting the hard key search button and then entering the link?
  8. ConqSoft
    Offline

    ConqSoft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Yeah, sounds like that could be the issue. Make sure you're opening the Browser, and touching the URL input box at the top to enter a new URL.
  9. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    If you just start typing the address after opening the browser, it will automatically do a search for what you entered. Are you making sure that you are touching the address bar at the top of the page? Once the homepage loads up, you will have to scroll up to see the address bar again.
  10. Budarooski
    Offline

    Budarooski New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here is what I'm doing:


    1. Open browser via the Browser icon
    2. type in the URL I'm want to go to
    3. touch "go"
    result: it goes to Google and shows links that are similar to what I'm entering, as if I wanted a search, which I don't.

    I went to options and set my home page to CNN.com - Breaking News, U.S., World, Weather, Entertainment & Video News trying to get it "out" of google, but if I go to cnn.com and repeat steps 1-3 above, again it goes to google.
  11. timlitw
    Offline

    timlitw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just to make sure - Are you typing the url in the google search or in the address bar? The page scrolls up so the address bar is above the top of the screen if you don't watch it.
  12. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    I can't imagine it being anything other than this ^.
  13. Budarooski
    Offline

    Budarooski New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I'm using the address bar. As soon as I hit "go", it automatically changes the url to Google and starts looking for the URL I entered. This is driving me nuts!
  14. Budarooski
    Offline

    Budarooski New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am such an idiot!!! I was pasting the URL each time I was trying and didn't realize I had originally typed "htpps" instead of "https".

    When I was typing www. cnn . com, my fat finger was hitting the address bar instead of the "go" button. By weird bad luck, when I used the "go" from the keyboard, I had the incorrect URL typed in.

    Sorry to waste all you fine folks time; thanks for offering help.
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2009
  15. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try hitting the Go on the keyboard....
  16. dylanthecat
    Offline

    dylanthecat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Glad you figured it out. Don't feel bad, I could not find the ? on the keyboard at first.
  17. Zahoor
    Offline

    Zahoor New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use dolphin browser that should let u bro
  18. Taina51
    Offline

    Taina51 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried to duplicate what you wrote and it only happens when I typed the information in the Google search box NOT when I typed in the URL box at the very top of the window.
  19. brownm279
    Offline

    brownm279 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was frustrated with the same issue and came here but I also needed a better answer. Here is my solution. Go to the Google search and get page up. Hit menu - the url window will slide down from the top for short second and you have to tap it fast, then the keyboard will open.
  20. dylanthecat
    Offline

    dylanthecat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    If you just slide your finger down the address bar appears at the top. Not sure what you mean by "get page up".
Search tags for this page

android browser enter url

,

android browser will not go directly to url

,

android type url

,

enter a url in the address bar to go to straight to a site

,

enter web address android

,

enter web address android browser

,

go directly to url

,
how to do search on browser directly
,
how to enter url in android
,

how to enter url on android

,

how to go directly to a website

,

how to type in a website on droid