How to get the link for OTA

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Atst44, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. Atst44
    Offline

    Atst44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know this has been posted before, but I cannot seem to find it.
    I haven't gotten the thing yet, but just in case...
    I want to be able to get this in the hands of someone who can mash it to bits ASAP!

    Mahalo!
     
  2. Atst44
    Offline

    Atst44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also... (Sorry for all the questions...)
    Do I need to go back to 100% stock, or will the droidmod with JUST root (not the rom) pick up the update as well?
    (I went to 100% stock, but I am curious!)
     
  3. NeverEndingXsin
    Offline

    NeverEndingXsin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only reason you would need to go back to 100% stock is if droidmod blocked the ota update, I can't remember if it did or not. But you should be fine now =)
     
  4. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    Need to be running a 2.0.1 base I would think and have ota updates enabled again.

    Then when you get the prompt, let it download, then choose install now or install later.

    If you want to keep root, just pick install later, and you still have the update.zip on your sdcard to share if you want.
     
  5. Atst44
    Offline

    Atst44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I mean, how to get the link via ADB

    I dont want to D/L the ota.
    I thought there was a way to cancel it and pull the link via adb...
     
  6. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    It has to download to the phone , adb only pulls from the phone.

    Just let it download, but cancel the install. then you can adb pull the update.zip from the sdard.
     
  7. Atst44
    Offline

    Atst44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, I was under the impression that I could get the server address.
    Either way, that would work too, I guess.
    Mahalo!
     
  8. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    No it's a controlled push rollout, so u can't force it.

    I think it was 10k the first day, then a 24 hr wait to see if there are any issues with the update, then they will proceed with 200k each day after.
     
  9. Yarbster
    Offline

    Yarbster New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    wait so if i have a hacked droid that is 2.1 right now, will i still be able to get the official with the OTA?
     
  10. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Of course, once it comes out and once you unroot. Or once the official update is available through the same unofficial means the 2.01 update was made available so you can apply it manually yourself.
     
  11. phatkat66
    Offline

    phatkat66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I heard that even if you "block" the OTA update it still gets sent to your phone but it cant fnid a specific file to initiate the update. But im wondering if the file is called "update.zip" and I already have an "update.zip" on my sdcard how will i know I received it?
     
  12. baniels
    Offline

    baniels Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    52556
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I am lucky enough to be one of the first people to get it I will just look for the update.zip on the SD card with Astro copy it to another folder before rebooting.

    Of course I have already deleted any other update.zip in the root of my sd card so I can be certain when a new one shows up. Keep that in mind if you have been applying any other updates.
     
  13. creamers
    Offline

    creamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whoever gets the offical 2.1 publish here on the forums. I really want it since it has native live wallpapers.

    By updating though it just wipes system. Right?
     
  14. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
    If you are running SPRecovery, it should block OTAs (.99.2b and .99.3b do at least) . Anyone running it shouldn't get the OTA. If your ROM has blocked them, then you are blocked in two ways. I haven't really paid attention if ROMs are still blocking them manually, though it shouldn't matter with SPRecovery.

    I am not too sure about Clockwork recovery and Koush's ROM. I would assume they would be blocked on his too, but I am purely speculating on this.
     
  15. phatkat66
    Offline

    phatkat66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I highly doubt it wipes the system, I don't remember the 2.0.1 update doing that, plus it would piss off alot of people if it wiped your system because you have to redo all of your settings, ringtones, emails, everything would be done from scratch and thats not really going to make people happy. Thats why I haven't switched to a 2.1 rom yet. I did so before and the amount of info that ended up missing and reset was too much of a hassle.
     
Search tags for this page

how to adb pull ota file from htc one?