How to get SD card recognized?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by tomthbomb, Jan 27, 2012.

  1. tomthbomb

    tomthbomb Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Trying to download Astro but it does not recognize my SD card. It is in there. Did I mount it incorrectly or what? Please advise.:hail:
     
  2. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +29
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    you don't need a SD card to download/install apps, all my apps are on my 8gb internal memory
    save my sd card for backups, music, photos

    can stock file explorer see SD Card?
     
  3. thumps420

    thumps420 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Zipper....

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  4. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    Did you mount the card when you installed it?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  5. tomthbomb

    tomthbomb Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Not sure (probably means "no"). It is a company issued device. How do I do that please?
     
  6. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    Menu>Settings>Storage>SD card. It might say "Format" if the card is new. Press that (assuming you have nothing on it) and it will be mounted after formatting. If it's an old card it'll be "Mount."

    And when you're going to remove it, press "Unmount" before removing.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2012
  7. tomthbomb

    tomthbomb Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks. After I get it mounted how can I see what is on it?
     
  8. Gasai Yuno

    Gasai Yuno Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mount and unmount states are not saved between reboots. The SD card is mounted when the system boots up and is (obviously) unmounted on system shutdown; it's a software state, and it's not persistent.

    An unformatted card, obviously, cannot be mounted.
     
  9. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    You can use a file manager app like Astro.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  10. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    Yeah that's right. It sounds like the card was unformatted.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  11. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    To the OP; remember, if you format, it will ERASE EVERYTHING on the card.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  12. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +29
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    and it may say unmount for safe removal. if it's already mounted

    you can see files with stock files app

    if it still isn't working
    were you downloading astro, or trying to run astro
    is this a new phone or sd card
    what size and class 2,4,8
     
  13. tomthbomb

    tomthbomb Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks for sticking with me on this. I am a novice trying to get it.

    I downloaded Astro and can see my files. Some of them are ring tones I would like to assign to contacts. I can't assign them. Suggestions or instructions are appreciated. Thanks. ttb

    BTW, new phone, new 8g sd.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2012
  14. themib

    themib Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ratings:
    +29
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid 4 (XT894)
    so did you have to format?
    think you need to move files to media/audio/ringtones
     
  15. tomthbomb

    tomthbomb Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Did not have to format. I plugged the card into my PC and it all was there.

    Please advise the steps to move to ring tones. They are is a folder but not a media folder.
     
Search tags for this page
droid incredible 2 sd card not recognized
,
how to mount sd card on droid incredible 2
,
htc thunderbolt no sd card detected
,
htc thunderbolt not detecting sd card
,
htc thunderbolt sd card not recognized
,
htc thunderbolt wont read sd card
,
my android does not recognize my sd card
,

no sd card detected android

,
sd card not recognized android
,
thunderbolt wont read sd card