How to get rid of voicemail app

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S7, S7 Edge & S7 Active' started by dbronstein, Dec 21, 2019.

Tags:
  1. dbronstein

    dbronstein Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have an S7 Edge on Sprint. It has the stupid voicemail app installed. How can I get rid of it - it won't let me uninstall it? Or is there some way I can get the standard voicemail notification back - so when there is a a VM, I can pull down the status bar and just dial into my voicemail? I could live with the app if it didn't have the stupid ads. But I'd really prefer to get rid of it.

    I've seen some posts around that say you can go into your sprint account and remove visual voicemail from your account features, but I don't have that option anywhere.
     
  2. bkdodger

    bkdodger Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    10,240
    Likes Received:
    6,718
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Staten Island, New York
    Ratings:
    +7,032
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 10+
    I'm not familiar with Sprint.. are you able to clear the app data and cache ? Maybe then you can disable it?

    Note10+
     
  3. dbronstein

    dbronstein Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    No, it won't let me disable it.
     
  4. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15,612
    Likes Received:
    12,569
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +13,130
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    I'm not familiar with Sprint either, but if it's anything like Verizon's Visual Voicemail premium service (not the standard service...the premium) that's an account change that has to be made first. And then the standard voicemail is available on the phone. Have you contacted Sprint customer support?

    Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk
     
  5. dbronstein

    dbronstein Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I tried contacting Sprint and the rep had no idea what I was talking about. She thought I wanted to remove voicemail from the account.
     
  6. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15,612
    Likes Received:
    12,569
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +13,130
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    So you are wanting to use no app at all for voicemail and just use a dial up number to listen to voicemail messages? If so I'm not sure if carriers even offer that anymore. I think voicemail is all accessed through an app these days.

    Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk
     
  7. dbronstein

    dbronstein Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    That's how it works on my wife's phone.
     
  8. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15,612
    Likes Received:
    12,569
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +13,130
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    I'm not sure. All I have seen for years now is voicemail accessed through the specific carrier app. I would think that Sprint probably still has a number you can dial to listen to voicemail messages, but I have no idea what the number is.

    Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk
     
  9. dbronstein

    dbronstein Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes they do. But I want the app off my phone so I can just press on the notification to dial automatically to the VM box.
     
  10. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15,612
    Likes Received:
    12,569
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +13,130
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    I don't think it will work that way. You need the app to give you the new voicemail notification. Then you could dismiss the notification and just dial into voicemail. Without a Sprint voicemail app you would never know you have new voicemail messages

    Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk
     
  11. dbronstein

    dbronstein Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Totally not true. My wife's phone doesn't have any voicemail app and it gives a notification when there's a VM. Then you can tap the notification and it dials into her VM and plays the message.
     
  12. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15,612
    Likes Received:
    12,569
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +13,130
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    Which phone. I am not trying to be argumentative. I'm just saying I have not seen an Android phone with that behavior since around 2011. I am only posting based on what I have seen and believe to be true of modern Android phones.

    Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk