How to get my Thundeerbolt

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by KXMc, Mar 2, 2011.

  1. KXMc

    KXMc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope this is the right place to ask these questions...

    I have a Verizon contract with 2 OG Droids on it. No upgrade until 11/11. I'm trying to see how I can get the Thunderbolt when (if...) it comes out. Obviously I could pay the 7-800 and just buy it, but it would be nice to get it cheaper.

    Is there some way I could cancel 1 Droid, pay early termination fee, then add TB? I asked at VZW store, and this is what the guy suggested: Get a cheapo non-smartphone Verizon phone with clean ESN. When TB comes out, switch one Droid account to the cheapo phone (to save the $30/month data fee), but TB on 2yr contract at whatever cheap price it comes, add a line to current contract with the TB, swap OG Droid phone number to TB, voila.?. Does this sound right?

    I guess basically I would be left with a backup Droid (can still get on web via wireless?), a non-smartphone just filling a slot until I can cancel it in Nov, my same working Droid and new TB.

    Can you see any way this wouldn't work or be 'illegal'? Maybe a suggestion of an even better way to do it? I don't mind having to pay the full $700 for the phone, but would be nice not to. dancedroid

    Thanks in advance for any suggestions, advice, etc. I do apologize if I've posted this in the wrong place...

    Ken!
     
  2. techguru

    techguru Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The suggestion from the vzw rep is a good one. I did basically the same once, and I actually wound up keeping the dumb phone in my car, and stuck it on a charger once in a while so I had an emergency phone in case anything happened to my smartphone.

    Another option, is if you have a friend or family member (that you trust not to run up charges buying ringtones or games...) you can let them use the phone and pay you the $9+tax and fees (works out to about $15/month actually). Be careful with this though. Probably half the cases on Judge Judy and Judge Joe Brown (guilty pleasures....) are about friends added to friends cell accounts, running up the bill, and not paying.

    Alan
     
  3. KXMc

    KXMc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the helpful and quick response!

    Ken!
     
  4. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +33
    I currently have 4 lines on my plan. Two of the lines were for my kids, one of which has since married and moved out of the house. I keep that line so that I have a constant rotation of update dates to use at my disposal. And yes I keep an old Moto flip phone on that line so there is no data plan. It only costs me 11.00 a month but priceless when I want a new phone.

    So yeah adding a new line so that you can get the new phone and then just the TB on your primary line and put a dummy phone on the new line that is not going to be used. That is what I would do.
     
  5. HollywoodPR1

    HollywoodPR1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I suggest that all the time to customers. Most of them do it cuz they want the new phone.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
     
  6. KXMc

    KXMc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's awesome. Thanks so much. So I can use any old flip phone that is for Verizon, as long as it has a 'clean ESN', right?
     
  7. HollywoodPR1

    HollywoodPR1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Correct. Even working for VZW. I have extra lines

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
     
  8. Blackhawk55

    Blackhawk55 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe you could "dumb it down" for me? I have one line currently for my Droid. It's early upgrade eligible which is good for 2-year pricing on a TB with a new 2-year contract but supposedly no 1-year contracts allowed. My real upgrade and NE2 date in in July.

    So you are suggesting to get my hands on a dumb VZW phone with clean ESN. Then when TB comes out, switch my single Droid account to the dumb phone , buy the TB on 1 or 2yr contract, add a new line to my contract for the TB, swap my Droid phone number to the TB, and swap the new line number to the dumb phone? I could then put the dumb phone is a drawer and pay maybe $11/month as a fee for this flexibility? Then come July when my first line comes into full upgrade eligibility be in a position if I really wanted to see what devices are available and use my NE2?

    Did I miss anything?
     
  9. HollywoodPR1

    HollywoodPR1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That sounds about right. What plan are you on?

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
     
  10. Blackhawk55

    Blackhawk55 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    "NATIONWIDE TALK & TEXT 450" sound like what you seek?
     
  11. HollywoodPR1

    HollywoodPR1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You pay 89 for it all. No it'd b 99 cuz ud have to change Ur plan so u would b paying 130.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
     
  12. Blackhawk55

    Blackhawk55 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry you lost me. Yes, my bill (before corp discount) is $89.99. Are you saying to add the line will run it up to $130/month? $40/month extra for the flexibility?