How to force stock browser out of Mobile mode?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Eddog4DROID, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. Eddog4DROID

    Eddog4DROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am trying out flash and want to go to ESPN: The Worldwide Leader In Sports (for example) but I am forced into the mobile site. I thought their was an option so it doe not do this?


    Disclaimer: I didn't mention a certain update so please do not shut down this thread.
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I don't think there is a setting in the stock browser to do this, I've looked in the past and couldn't find it.

    Doe the site not have a link to switch from mobil to regular?
     
  3. Eddog4DROID

    Eddog4DROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, yes. ESPN let me force out.

    Opera has this option I know of.
     
  4. MadDroid2010

    MadDroid2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The stock browser does allow you to change what footprint it gives to websites. Open a webpage within the browser, hit your menu button, touch "more", then "settings. You should see an option for "User Agent", change to either Desktop, or Internet Explorer 6. I was unable to find this option on the Droid X as it supposedly asks you what to view each mobile site as.

    Clarification: You do not have to change this for each website, once its set, its for all sites.
     
  5. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    In the stock browser don't you have to go to about:debug or about:config to make the setting visible. It will reset when you restart the browser.

    Anyway, I don't use the stock browser. Here are my current rankings:

    1)dolphin HD
    2)dolphin
    3)xscope

    Install them all and opera. Opera is cool because it is fast and it lets you upload files from your droid.
     
  6. Droooiiid

    Droooiiid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    have you tried Skyfire? I wonder how you would rate it?
     
  7. Houndstooth

    Houndstooth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got this from all the websites that show you how to watch hulu:




    1. In your browser URL, type “about:debug” and press enter. (No quotations)
    2. Hit “menu” and then select “Settings.”
    3. Scroll all the way to the bottom of the settings and tap on “UAString.”
    4. Select “Desktop.”


    I don't know if that'll do it or not, but it might.
     
  8. MadDroid2010

    MadDroid2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good question, I dont remember ever doing that command. But now that im looking through the settings, User Agent is not there anymore. I guess if they dont see it, they can try to run that command.

    I have updated the Rom and theme since I last set the browser settings so who knows.
     
  9. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, houndstooth has the right steps for the stock browser.

    Here are my current rankings as of this minute. Please note that I personally like a) tabs, b) ability to set desktop/computer user agent c) renders quickly and acurately and performs well

    1)dolphin hd - tabs pretty good (don't work so well in fullscreen after the update). turn off open in overview too.
    2)dolphin - tabs quirky but good once you learn it
    3)xscope - good tabs, but sometimes frustrating because you can't click links or it doesn't render the page properly or acts funky. also, can't edit bookmarks, no http:// in address bar, I could go on
    4)opera mini - no tabs but super fast. kinda quirky to use and can act funky. CAN UPLOAD FILES...what other browser can? none?
    5)skyfire - other than flash video (which it barely seems to handle), what's the point? it's pretty fast but no tabs!
    6)steel - nice early browser. needs update.
    7)stock browser - no tabs, can't set user agent. runs reliably though.
     
Search tags for this page
android browser non mobile mode
,
android force full browser
,

chase non mobile

,

chase non mobile site

,

force full site android

,
force full website on android
,
force mobile browser to full website
,
non mobile chase
,
non mobile chase site
,
non mobile chase website