1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

[How-To] Force Motorola Droid 2.1 OTA Update (ESE81)

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Getaphixx, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. Getaphixx
    Offline

    Getaphixx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Credit to Fabolous @

    Download this file:

    https://android.clients.google.com/updates/voles/signed-voles-ESE81-from-ESD56.fa406da6.zip <--- Direct from Google's Servers!

    OR

    signed-voles-ESE81-from-ESD56.fa406da6.zip

    Put on the root of your sdcard (not in a folder)

    Rename to update.zip

    Power phone off

    Boot into recovery (power phone on while holding down x)

    When you see the triangle with the exclamation point, press (& hold) the volume up key and camera button key (only press the camera key down half way)

    Navigate to “apply update.zip” and press the gold center button on the keyboard to select it. It will start the update process

    Reboot



    If your installation is 'aborted', it's probably because you named the file update.zip in Windows, which results in a file called update.zip.zip. Try renaming it to just 'update'



    EDIT: You can do all this from your phone without using the USB cable.. Using Astro just move the file from your download folder on SD, to the Root of SD..


    Installing this will remove root access! It will kill wifi tethering. It ONLY installs over 2.01 and all of your apps/ personal info will remain untouched.


    If your phone's Firmare Version reads "2.1-update1".. You're done! Congrats! Everything is fine!

    Special Thanks To...

    -ugot2go123 and Speeddymon for the update.zip file
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2010
  2. masterxchief
    Offline

    masterxchief New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
  3. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Just to be clear, applying this update will cause a loss of root. Correct?
  4. Getaphixx
    Offline

    Getaphixx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Yes..

    Also ignore the site certificate warning..

    Download the file anyway..
  5. RoNYC
    Offline

    RoNYC New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    hello
    got to the exclamation point and pressed volume up and camera but nothing????did i miss anything?
  6. Getaphixx
    Offline

    Getaphixx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Keep trying... Give it two or three attempts!!!!
  7. 7isfx7
    Offline

    7isfx7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Installed... Thanks
  8. RoNYC
    Offline

    RoNYC New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    manage to install and reboot........nothing?!?!?!? checked phone info and still 2.0
  9. Fabolous
    Offline

    Fabolous Superuser Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    Oops! This may have been the more appropriate section to post in. :)

    Maybe a mod can merge them ?
  10. frayed
    Offline

    frayed New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So if I force the update is it exactly the same as if I wait for it ota or will o not get the next update
  11. RoNYC
    Offline

    RoNYC New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    after "apply sdcard:update.zip" it gave me a "installation aborted".....help
  12. samiusmc
    Offline

    samiusmc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Make sure the file is named "update.zip" and not "update.zip.zip" If you're using Windows 7, just name it "update" and Windows will add the ".zip" extension.
  13. RoNYC
    Offline

    RoNYC New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    on a mac g4, file name is update.zip.....thanks
  14. Speeding Wheels
    Offline

    Speeding Wheels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit - in da burbs!
    Worked like a charm.

    Thanks!!
  15. Moonraker
    Offline

    Moonraker New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bad'****ing'Ass. It worked like a charm.. Just as an OTA update would be I believe.

    Live wallpapers, updated galley, updated pinch and zoom. All here in my hands.. No more "Ill see it when I believe it". Its here, you just have to download and do this procedure.. or wait.
  16. Getaphixx
    Offline

    Getaphixx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    It is the same as OTA!

    You're pulling the Update.zip direct from Google... And force installing it. Not waiting for the OTA.. :grin:
  17. chaosz3ro
    Offline

    chaosz3ro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome! Thanks so much. I'm disappointed to see that we're still stuck on 3 screens, and they didn't include the new clock/alarm app. Otherwise, it's nice to finally catch up to the nexus one. (mostly)

    I love the Droid version of the circuits live wallpaper though.
  18. Getaphixx
    Offline

    Getaphixx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Voice to text is pretty sick.. I know you're not supposed to text and drive..

    But..... . . .

    with this Google is gonna be saving lives!

    Now if us non rooted users could get a multitouch keyboard, life would be grand. Maybe that'll come in update2!
  19. chaosz3ro
    Offline

    chaosz3ro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try smart keyboard pro? It has multitouch with 2.1
  20. goinskiing
    Offline

    goinskiing New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    worked like a charm, thanks.
Search tags for this page
2.1 android ota uptade center indir
,

force ota update droid 3

,
force text retry
,

how to force update droid x

,
motorola droid update 2.1 download