How to flash ROM without losing apps

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by stimpyerin, Jan 25, 2012.

  1. stimpyerin

    stimpyerin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My husband has a rooted Droid X and wants to flash a new ROM to it... He doesn't want to reset the phone and lose his apps... He has ROM Manager with ClockworkMod Recovery... He is not able to boot into clockwork recovery from power off... We have tried several different things and nothing seems to work... Please help!!!!!
     
  2. Nemo Aeternamn

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    Ratings:
    +13
    To do that... You need to get an app like titanium back up or my backup... That will back up apps/data/contacts/texts/call log and everything

    We have nothing to fear but running out of beer
     
  3. stimpyerin

    stimpyerin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    He has titanium backup and has backed up everything... He has ROM Manager and he's trying to flash a ROM from there and it wont even boot into clockwork recovery... Any suggestions?
     
  4. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    you need bootstrapper for the DX. same thing, but a different process
     
  5. stimpyerin

    stimpyerin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a free one out there? Every one he's found costs...
     
  6. stimpyerin

    stimpyerin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, he broke down and bought the bootstrap app... and its still not working... it just gives him a black screen...
     
  7. Nemo Aeternamn

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    Ratings:
    +13
    bootstrap is a paid app...
    did you get droid x bootstrap?
    if so you need to go to settings/applications/development/ and uncheck debugging
     
  8. MrFumblesTheDroid69

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Wisconsin Dells
    Ratings:
    +2
    Make sure you hit bootstrap recovery then hit reboot recovery. I have a DX but I use Droid 2 bootstrap with no problems...I think DX bootstrap only works on android 2.2 but I could be mistaken

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  9. stimpyerin

    stimpyerin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    he figured out the debugging and then it worked... but now he thinks he bricked it... he was trying to boot the darkslide rom and now hes frozen on the motorola screen... he tried the factory reset and it still isnt booting up... he is going to have to the sbf stuff?
     
  10. Nemo Aeternamn

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    Ratings:
    +13
    Sounds like it...
    What version of darkslide did he try and install?

    We have nothing to fear but running out of beer
     
  11. stimpyerin

    stimpyerin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    he doesnt remember which version it was... he thinks it was for gingerbread and he is only running froyo... hes at work so i'm relaying this from what he emails me lol...
     
  12. Nemo Aeternamn

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    Ratings:
    +13
    Well... If that's the case bootstrap should have worked with debugging on....
    But if he flashed darkslide x on froyo... The only thing us can do is sbf to fix

    We have nothing to fear but running out of beer
     
Search tags for this page

android change rom without losing apps

,
flash new rom without losing apps
,
flash rom without losing apps
,
flash rom without losing data
,
how to change rom without losing apps
,
how to update android rom without losing data
,
install new rom without losing apps
,

update android rom without losing data

,
update rom without losing apps
,

update rom without losing data