1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

How to: Enable HQ Video Recording in Froyo

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by Nismo4x4, Jun 19, 2010.

  1. Nismo4x4
    Offline

    Nismo4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure if this subject has been touched on yet but I believe I found out how to enable higher quality video recording to Froyo builds, but please correct me if I'm mistaken.

    It seems that in 2.2, Google changed the Build.prop file which used to contain the data that controlled video recording quality. Now you can navigate to /etc/media_profiles.xml file and if you scroll down halfway through the file you'll see text that reads Camcorder Profiles. The first data set controls the "high" quality recording settings and changing the bitRate from 3000000 to 7000000 or 8000000 will greatly increase recording quality based on my observations. If anyone can really put this to test that would be wonderful!

    Thanks all and best of luck!
  2. Sing1gniS
    Offline

    Sing1gniS New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great find!

    It worked perfectly for me. Opened up the file in Root Explorer, changed the values, rebooted and all is well.

    Thanks!
  3. chadamir
    Offline

    chadamir New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now if only there were a way to make the pictures look like they aren't a 5 megapixel photo of a frame from a vhs tape.
  4. crpngdth2001
    Offline

    crpngdth2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delaware, Ohio
    LOL, The only way to fix that is called an Incredible or X :icon_ banana:
  5. chadamir
    Offline

    chadamir New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I went into that media_profiles.xml and under image encoding quality I changed the 90 to 100 in both places and my files seem larger but still not sure about the quality. The problem on these files is partially the compression since banding is a compression artifact. No incredible or X for me. Give me keyboard or give me death.
  6. Beno
    Offline

    Beno New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Forgive me if this is slightly off topic, but it does have to do with the xml file referenced above and with hq video recording. :)

    I'm running Birdman's FLY 0.6 froyo rom on my Droid which had the HQ video hack built in. When I make a video, I cannot play it on anything, including the phone. Can anyone check out these lines from my xml file and let me know if I can tweak something to make it work again? HUGELY appreciated!! Just for kicks I did try changing the fileFormat to 3gp and the codec to h263... no luck. :(

    <CamcorderProfiles>

    <EncoderProfile quality="high" fileFormat="mp4" duration="60">
    <Video codec="h264"
    bitRate="8000000"
    width="720"
    height="480"
    frameRate="30" />


    <Audio codec="aac"
    bitRate="96000"
    sampleRate="16000"
    channels="1" />
    </EncoderProfile>

    <EncoderProfile quality="low" fileFormat="mp4" duration="60">
    <Video codec="m4v"
    bitRate="96000"
    width="176"
    height="144"
    frameRate="20" />

    <Audio codec="amrnb"
    bitRate="12200"
    sampleRate="8000"
    channels="1" />

    </EncoderProfile>

    <ImageEncoding quality="100" />
    <ImageEncoding quality="80" />
    <ImageEncoding quality="70" />
    <ImageDecoding memCap="20000000" />

    <Camera previewFrameRate="0" />

    </CamcorderProfiles>
  7. MaverickVirus
    Offline

    MaverickVirus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Just a quick question along the same lines as this topic. Does anyone know if the 720p hack on the nexus one can be performed on the Droid? BTW I'm gonna go change my video recording to HQ now. Thanks!
  8. matttat
    Offline

    matttat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    to Beno regarding video quality

    You need to change the "H264" to "m4v". for some reason your low quality format is right, but your high quality is wrong. First try to shoot a video using the low quality setting and see if it plays back on your Droid. if it does then I am right if it doesn't then there is something else wrong. That should fix your problem though. Let me know if it works either way.
  9. droidbrm
    Offline

    droidbrm New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Anybody else set the framerate to 30, because I get a huge improvement over the normal 25
  10. Beno
    Offline

    Beno New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Such a simple fix! Thank you, it works marvelously now, and records mp4 files instead of 3gp.
  11. Redneck Trash
    Offline

    Redneck Trash New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So how do you edit it to make the changes?

    Sent from my DROID using Tapatalk
  12. Beno
    Offline

    Beno New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I used the Root Explorer app.
  13. Redneck Trash
    Offline

    Redneck Trash New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, yeah. Root Explorer to get to the file. But how do you edit?

    Sent from my DROID using Tapatalk
  14. Beno
    Offline

    Beno New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    click and hold on the file, a pop up menu will appear, scroll down and click 'open in text editor'
  15. Redneck Trash
    Offline

    Redneck Trash New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried that. This is what I get.

    [​IMG]

    Sent from my DROID using Tapatalk
  16. Beno
    Offline

    Beno New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    notice in the upper right of your image? click that button. i ran into that as well
  17. Redneck Trash
    Offline

    Redneck Trash New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That worked. Thanks.

    Sent from my DROID using Tapatalk
  18. matttat
    Offline

    matttat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    regarding hq video

    Glad to hear it worked out Beno. Now if you would like to use the "H-264" instead of "mp4" then you can change your framerate from 30 down to 25. Some people prefer this and I personally use this set up.
  19. Beno
    Offline

    Beno New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Is there any advantage using h.264 vs. m4v? I thought they were more or less the same? Is one more compact?
  20. matttat
    Offline

    matttat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not too sure but I think H-264 is higher quality than mp4. I tested both out and loaded them to my laptop to get all the details and the H-264 was a bigger file. Only by about 1 mb. But that is a lot seeing that there are less frames than when configured m4v.
Search tags for this page
android media profiles
,

android media profiles.xml

,
android media profiles.xml video cam
,
android mediaprofiles xml tweaks
,
edit mediaprofile.xml android
,
high quality video recorder for android
,
higher bitrate android video
,
media profile.xml
,
media profiles .xml image encoding
,
media profiles xml
,
media profiles xml android location
,

media profiles.xml

,
media profiles.xml tweak
,
media profiles.xml tweaks
,
mk16i upside down media profiles.xml