How to disable bloat

Discussion in 'Droid Razr and Razr Maxx ICS discussion' started by William_04_x, Jun 23, 2012.

  1. Technoman

    Technoman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Color is irritating and annoying. Once you install it, it nags you to death.

    Sent from my AT100 using Tapatalk 2
     
  2. Caesars

    Caesars Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,330
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +100
    Are we able to freeze processes? Actual apps I have the gist of, but things like that zumo crap, I can't figure out how to freeze. I went to manage apps-but the disable option is greyed out, I'm sure a 1click root will be out soon either way :).
     
  3. Tracey4

    Tracey4 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have ICS yet, but I did go into the app manager and tried uninstalling some bloatware just to see what would happen. I was successfully able to uninstall Blockbuster and Goto meeting. Is that normal? I thought they were apps that couldn't be removed? Now I'm worried when ICS comes it won't install properly if I'm missing my bloatware.
     
  4. rdgxray

    rdgxray Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Verizon actually listened when people complained about bloatware and not being able to uninstall it. They started allowing some apps to be uninstalled like blockbuster. Let's golf and madden football are other examples of apps you are allowed to uninstall now. This will not affect your ability to install ics. When you install the ota it will not reinstall any bloat you have previously uninstalled.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  5. Tracey4

    Tracey4 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh that is awesome! Thank you!
     
  6. rotordroid

    rotordroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Ratings:
    +2
    You can root with Matt's 1.7 Utility then use Titanium to freeze anything (apps and/or processes).
     
  7. kijutsu

    kijutsu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Allen Park, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats what I did -- along with three quarters of the crappy Blur applications that I don't use. Freed up a CRAPLOAD of ram.
     
  8. rc19unc

    rc19unc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    An easier way would be to root, purchase Rom Toolbox and break all the market links along with freezing the apps.
     
    #20 rc19unc, Jun 28, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2012
  9. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +210
    There are two apps which can't be frozen ... Google Play Books and Google Play Movies. I freeze them in Titanium Backup, but if I reboot the phone they defrost themselves. I disabled them through the manage apps in the phone with ICS. And interestingly enough, I read on another forum that if you try to watch a Google Movie on a rooted phone, you will get a message saying "This movie cannot be viewed because your device appears to be rooted" :icon_eek: Big Brother is watching. Damn the torpedoes ... full tether ahead! :p
     
  10. djembeman

    djembeman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    On Stock ICS I couldn't get Backup Assistant or Backup Assistant Plus to disable. Why do they think you need backup assistant when you have a Google account?

    As for the original instructions, I don't know why you wouldn't just hit menu, manage apps, all apps and then click on the apps you want to disable from there.
     
  11. amy335

    amy335 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Bristol, Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is freezing an app?
     
  12. gan777

    gan777 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I noticed the same thing... when I disable the apps they are only disabled until I reboot the phone, then they pop up again... very irritating!
     
Search tags for this page
bloat s3
,
desinstalar motoactv
,
droid disable mog
,
droid razr color app
,
google play books bloat
,
how to make sure spam and bloat are uninstalled from your ph
,
how to uninstall motoactv
,
ics disable apps in app manager greyed out
,

remove motoactv app

,

uninstall motoactv