How to Change the M Logo

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by cystic, Feb 27, 2010.

  1. cystic
    Offline

    cystic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    These instructions detail how to flash a new boot image that has already been made. If you want to make one of your own use instructions located here: http://www.alldroid.org/viewtopic.php?f=210&t=2712
    Also, for simplicity, I use DM Updater. This is optional, you can install root/sprecovery with your own preferred method if you wish.

    Credit for this hack goes out to daikonv. Without him this would not be possible.

    1) Make an Advanced Nandroid backup of everything, copy that folder to your PC just to be safe.
    2) Download RSDLite
    3) Download Motorola Drivers: 32 or 64 bit
    4) Download the sbf file that has the logo you want
    5) Install Drivers and RSDLite
    6) Shut phone off
    7) Connect to PC
    8) Hold up on the D pad when you turn it on until black screen comes up.
    9) Click show device and make sure your phone is listed in number 1
    9) Load the sbf file into RSDLite and click Start.
    10) After update goes through process it will probably say failed.. just click show device and then reboot your phone.
    11) Notice the new logo as your phone boots ;)
    12) activate your phone, sign in to google, and download DMUpdater
    13) Install root using DM Updater then restart into Recovery and apply update.zip to apply the root hack.
    14) Reboot, noticing your logo again ;)
    15) Open DMUpdater, install recovery.
    16) Reboot into recovery and select advanced nandroid restore
    17) choose backup > select the one you just made before you did all this
    18) make sure Data/System/Cache/Misc are all checked and click restore.
    19) Reboot, notice your logo once again knowing that you have completed this simple process.

    i'm not going to keep track of all the new logos that are and will be available however here is the one I use made by boostdscoob and the original Moto Logo just in case you want to get back to the original:
    Dexter (The Serial Killer) - boostdscoob
    Original Moto Logo - Motorola uploaded by boostdscoob
    To see more logos made by boostdscoob please visit this link.
    --
    I will readd the video when I have time to remake it a little more professionally.
  2. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    I haven't had my coffee either, but this looks good to me too. Nice work.

    -Mike
  3. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    ditto. Can we add to this the instructions on how to make a new logo?
    ie: AllDroid - View topic - [Hack] Replace Motorola boot logo with your own image

    If we get the link to a good free hex editor then maybe we can clean these instructions up and add them to the op of this thread? And then hope for a sticky?
  4. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
  5. pyro6128
    Offline

    pyro6128 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    very nice. I would maybe just make a little note that says you don't have to use dmupdater and can just root normally if you choose.
  6. cystic
    Offline

    cystic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can link to that post if you want or if you write more detailed instructions I can post them in the op. I haven't actually made a custom one myself so I'm not going to attempt to detail the instructions. Also, do you think we should get the Mods to make this sticky?
  7. pyro6128
    Offline

    pyro6128 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    forget it, misread
  8. bishop7262
    Offline

    bishop7262 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is there a difference in using DMupdater and just rooting it again manually?
  9. cystic
    Offline

    cystic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not really, I just like DM Updater because its simple.
  10. pyro6128
    Offline

    pyro6128 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    nope, I rooted manually and didnt use dmupdater and everything worked great and got restored perfectly
  11. stlcity
    Offline

    stlcity New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys up and running with the spidey boot logo...rooted , OCed etc...:)
  12. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Root is root, doesn't matter how you get there.
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ha...ng-only-sprecovery-terminal-emulator-zip.html
    Steps 1-8 by matth3w is what I did. I've saved those files to my PC as well as the ones to unroot. The rooting process is simple and quick manually and I'm sure it is just as quick using an app.

    It took me weeks and weeks to set aside the 2-3 hours I wanted to root and get my desktop back how I wanted it. Now I need to get motivated to try this too:)
  13. cystic
    Offline

    cystic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it only takes about 15 minutes.. you dont have to set your desktop up again or anything if you restore your nandroid backup.
  14. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    making the image is very easy too...
    in photoshop make an image that is 480w x 182t with whatever logo you want and save as 24 bit bmp
    open file in hex editor (I use Frhed) and delete the first 54 bytes and last 2 bytes (file should be 262,080) DO NOT CLOSE
    go to edit -> select all and edit -> reverse bytes
    use SBF Codec to open your sbf file, it will make a folder called "SMG" DO NOT CLOSE SBF Codec
    In SMG find the file that starts with CG42 and open it with your hex editor
    highlight the first few bytes and hit delete, in the popup click on the second option to choose how many bytes to delete and enter "262,080" (saves a lot of time, learned the hard way lol)
    now go back to the image in hex editor which should still have the code highlighted. Go to edit -> copy
    now back to the CG42 file and click at the very beginning and go to edit -> paste, make sure you choose insert, not overwrite
    save CG42
    save the .sbf in SBF Codec as whatever name you like
    and apply with the instructions above...
  15. pthance
    Offline

    pthance New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The one that really interests me is the skull logo, but the file site has a file that is entirely too small to be an sbf. I'm talking twenty something kb, vs one hundred something mb.
  16. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    How are you getting two files open at once in frhed? I caonly open one at a time.

    -Mike
  17. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just open frhed twice and drag the files in each empty one...
  18. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Oh, duh. Thanks Brandon.

    -Mike
  19. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol. No sweat man. Have fun
  20. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    I'm not understanding where to get the SBF file to open. Can I use one that I already DLed?


    I'm screwing up the SBF file somehow. When I start with RSD, I get an error saying the flash process failed. All the other SBF files I DL'ed are working. Do I need to start with a blank SBF? Where do I get one?

    The other SBF files are 132,704. Mine is 132,934. I made sure to only bring over 262,080 from the BMP I wanted to use. I did nto have to cut out the last two bytes since I was not using PS. I used GIMP.

    -Mike
Search tags for this page

android jpeg

,
blind reaper razr wallpaper
,
coolest obey pictures
,
how do i put a banner on my droid razr
,
obey logo
,
obey logo wallpaper
,

obey star logo

,

obey star meaning

,
obey star wallpaper