How to Change Mac Address on Droid X?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by reef9, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. reef9

    reef9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all. I am in need of manually changing if possible the Mac Address of the Droid X???? Any help please?

    Thanks,
     
  2. japaleno

    japaleno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No such luck man, the mac is the hardware address and can't be changed, may be able to spoof it but, I've never heard of anybody doing it

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  3. reef9

    reef9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    There has got to be a way to change it. I've read a forum explaining that it changes without reason but that it did.... anyhow, i hope someone can help with this?

    Thanks
     
  4. manaox2

    manaox2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can't change it, but possibly could spoof it one day. People have tried using the terminal and the set eth0 command to do this like on linux but it changes back @ connection. Some custom roms have done it. An app maker should get on this as its definitely possible. I think it will at least require root.

    See here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=788418

    sent via tapatalk
     
  5. japaleno

    japaleno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    MAC address - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    As I said, you may be able to spoof it, but it cannot be changed, it is encoded in the rom of the chip by the manufacturer.
     
  6. reef9

    reef9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the explaining. However, it seems as if there should be a way to somehow change the Mac address similar to how you can on a PC.

    Check this thread.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...ilestone-wifi-mac-address-keeps-changing.html

    Would resetting the phone CHANGE the MAC address?

    ALSO, I noticed from the MOTO website that you can only "see" the mac address on your phone when wifi is turned ON. Does this me 3G does NOT use a Mac address, just an IP address?

    Thanks
     
  7. jjd228

    jjd228 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can't "change" it on a pc. Some nic drivers will allow you to spoof the mac address by entering one manually, but you're not changing anything. You have to understand that the mac address is burned into the board by the manufacturer and is globally unique. Root access at the command line in Linux will indeed let you do the same thing, again depending on the nic driver.

    RHCSE/MCSE
     
  8. reef9

    reef9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Is this spoofing?

    How to Change or Spoof MAC Address in Windows XP, Vista, Server 2003/2008, Mac OS X, Unix and Linux My Digital Life
     
  9. Technoman

    Technoman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. reef9

    reef9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so let me re-ask this question.

    How do you spoof the mac address of my Droid X?
     
  11. Technoman

    Technoman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, it isn't possible in the stock OS.... you would have to have a modified ROM (and at this time we don't have any) that has this ability built in to the OS.
     
  12. reef9

    reef9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Shoot.. well hopefully it comes out to where it can be spoofed... Thanks for the help and info...
     
Search tags for this page
alternate mac address droid x
,

android change mac address command line

,
android mac address modification
,
change mac address android
,
command in android change mac address
,
droid x mac address
,
how to change ip address on droid x
,
mac address on droid
,
motorola droid x mac address change
,
spoof mac address droid x