How to change browser in launch tab?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by beckx020, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. beckx020

    beckx020 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The new tab at the bottom of the screen on the Droid with 2.2. Has phone and launcher and browser icons. How do I change the browser from the default to another one?

    My phone is not rooted.
     
  2. nelamvr6

    nelamvr6 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New London, CT USA
    Ratings:
    +12
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy S6
    Place a shortcut to the browser you want on the home page. Then touch and hold it until it is selected, then drag it over the shortcut you want to replace and then let go.
     
  3. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    In the browser of your choice, go to settings and choose "make default".
     
  4. beckx020

    beckx020 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you both, but neither work for my phone.

    I can't drag another icon over the tab browser icon because the tab disappears when you long press any icon and a garbage can is there instead to delete it off the page.

    Dolphin browser in settings has the "set as default" disabled for 2.2 (and says so there) and that option is greyed out.
     
  5. nelamvr6

    nelamvr6 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New London, CT USA
    Ratings:
    +12
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy S6
    Can you select in setting whether or not the dock disappears?

    That's the way I did it, but I'm using ADW launcher...
     
  6. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why not use Dolphin HD? Dolphin is OOOOLLLLD.
     
  7. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd suggest trying another launcher. You just long press dock icons in Launcher Pro to change them, for example.
     
  8. beckx020

    beckx020 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I got it. Dolphin HD now loads from the browser button. :D Thank you!
     
Search tags for this page
android go launcher change default browser
,
android replace browser
,

change default browser go launcher

,
change defaultbrowser golauncher
,
droid browser launches be default
,
go launcher change browser
,

go launcher change default browser

,

go launcher default browser

,
go launcher dock browser
,
how to change default browser in go launcher