How-To: Busybox on Froyo

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by oshigeru, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. oshigeru
    Offline

    oshigeru Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How to: Install Busybox in P3Droid's leaked Android OS 2.2 (Froyo) for Motorola Droid

    What you need:
    > Your Droid running Froyo
    > A computer of some sort
    > ADB running on said computer
    > BGill55's Clean Black Chaos Froyo theme. (http://www.jbthemes.com/bgill55/Team_CHAOS_Clean_black_froyov1.2.zip)
    > Clockwork Recovery installed on your phone

    How to do it:

    This process requires a copy of busybox...for example, the one in BGill55's Clean Black v1.2 theme.

    Part 1: Getting busybox

    Unzip the theme, and grab the busybox file from /system/xbin. Put it in your ADB tools folder.

    Part 2: Copying and installing to phone

    It's important that you have clockwork recovery flashed. I haven't tested this in SPRecovery. If you haven't flashed Clockwork Recovery, you can do so with Rom Manager from the Market.

    For some reason, ADB won't work in Froyo under normal boot conditions, so we must reboot recovery to push busybox to /system/xbin

    Code:
    adb reboot recovery
    Once in Clockwork, scroll down to the partitions menu using the d-pad or volume keys.

    Plug your phone into your computer now. Open a terminal window and cd to your ADB tools directory.

    On your phone, select "mount /system" - should be the first option.

    Push busybox to the /system/xbin folder and change the permissions so you can use it.

    Code:
    adb push busybox /system/xbin/busybox
    adb shell chmod 755 /system/xbin/busybox
    You can stop here, but if you want full functionality (cp instead of busybox cp), keep going.

    EDIT: I looked in to this way too far before. I'm an idiot.

    All you need to do is:

    Reboot your phone.

    Code:
    adb shell
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    cd /system/xbin
    ./busybox --install .
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    reboot
    This just unpacks busybox so you can use individual commands without the busybox prefix. (cp instead of busybox cp.)


    Now reboot your phone, and Busybox should be installed with full command-line functionality. I've only tested this on my phone, and I hope it works on yours. Post with any questions, and I'll try to help as best I can.

    Credit to p3droid for getting us this awesome leak, and BGill55 for making busybox easily available.

    I figured this out through trial and error...it's very possible that there's an easier way.
     
  2. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will moving busybox (download from titanium backup) to system/xbin using Root Explorer do the same thing?
     
  3. oshigeru
    Offline

    oshigeru Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure. Honestly, it's more direct to just use this method and Koush's busybox. I haven't tried to titanium backup version. Theoretically, it could work that way.

    This method is for people like me who don't feel like buying Root Explorer. I'd rather use command-line for filesystem manipulation, anyway. GUI just slows you down.

     
  4. les017
    Offline

    les017 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This worked for me
     
  5. bgill55
    Offline

    bgill55 Silver Member Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +8
    or you can just install cleanblack v1.2 i have included busybox in the theme! :)
     
  6. Luxferro
    Offline

    Luxferro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    or:
    adb push busybox /data/local
    adb shell
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    mkdir /system/xbin
    cat /data/local/busybox > /system/xbin/busybox
    chmod 755 /system/xbin/busybox
    busybox --install /system/xbin
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    reboot
     
  7. oshigeru
    Offline

    oshigeru Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, but the --install command doesn't work. Also, mkdir /system/xbin isn't needed. It's already there. I was running into issues using this method, so I wrote up a quick-ish workaround.

     
  8. Luxferro
    Offline

    Luxferro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Install worked fine for me
     
  9. borgey401
    Offline

    borgey401 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have windows 7 and can't get ADB to work for some reason. I added the path to sdk/tools in the first variable and I know my phones drivers installed when the first time my phone hooked up to my computer. What can I do? I want to use ADB and can't it's pissing me off. It opens up quicky then shuts right off
     
  10. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,164
    Likes Received:
    891
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +908
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    bingo we have a winner : )

    This is the easiest and fastest way.....
     
  11. FrostMan
    Offline

    FrostMan Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried to copy paste the adb file in windows/system32 directory, or whatever. That is what i did on vista a long time ago to get it to work. I am at work so I cannot get the exact file names that need to be in there, but let me know if just copying the adb file over works.
     
  12. borgey401
    Offline

    borgey401 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  13. oshigeru
    Offline

    oshigeru Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Search. There's a guide in the hacking help forum.
     
  14. tomadoggy
    Offline

    tomadoggy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Move from...where?

    OK this is what I would like to do, but after browsing every nook of my SD card looking for the busybox download from Titanium...I cannot locate it to copy it over to system/xbin. Can someone help me out and direct me to where I can find the necessary files? Thanks!!!
     
  15. destinydmm
    Offline

    destinydmm Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also tried to dll busybox from titanium but that didn't work. So I'm still getting errors, with metamorph specifically.

    Destinydmm - Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page
/usr/sbin/brctl: no such file or directory
,
busy box for android 2.2
,
busy box for froyo
,

busybox android 2.2

,
busybox for android 2.2
,
busybox for frojo
,
busybox for froyo
,

busybox froyo

,
busybox froyo 2.2
,
instalar busybox android 2.2