how to backup and wipe data?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by SSpeeDEMONSS, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    im still not finding the answers to my questions. ive done searches and read about stuff but i just dont understand what im reading.

    how do i backup my phone and how do i wipe data? ive figured out the clear cache thing but need to do the others before i start other things i want to do. my phone is rooted.

    Garrett
  2. huskerkate
    Offline

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    if you have Rom Mgr installed (a rooted app), there is a selection in there to "Backup Current ROM". you can also do it thru recovery - which one do you have, SPRecovery or ClockwordMod?

    also, i'm going to move this to the Droid Hacks section - probably better suited for there, and you'll likely get more responses.
  3. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    when i reboot into recovery it gives me the white triangle with yellow exclamation point. now what? i read a little about that in a different forum but wasnt sure what it exactly meant.

    Garrett
  4. tommyk2005
    Offline

    tommyk2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bayonne,NJ
    you lost clockwork recovery. get rom manager and reflash clockwork recovery
  5. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    got it! thank you.

    Garrett
  6. tommyk2005
    Offline

    tommyk2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bayonne,NJ
    hey no problem. welcome me to the forums:)
  7. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    i think i messed it up now. i did backup then i did wipe data so i can do ultimate droid and now i have none of my apps. did i do something wrong? can i recover to get it back? i dont even have CWM anymore.

    Garrett
  8. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Welcome aboard


    Sent from my Droid
  9. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Did you flash the new rom after you wiped?


    Sent from my Droid
  10. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    how do i do that?

    Garrett
  11. tommyk2005
    Offline

    tommyk2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bayonne,NJ
    you can d/l your apps from the google store. other apps I have apk`s for need to be installed manually. what you did was wipe all your data. like a format on a h/d on a pc. UD 1.0.0 is excellent. I use the black and bold theme and slayher 1.1ghz lv kernel
  12. tommyk2005
    Offline

    tommyk2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bayonne,NJ
    thanks man
  13. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    i currently just recovered because i dont remember my google acccount to get my stuff back after the data wipe. im still not positive on how exactly to download the ultimate droid onto my phone. i assume i need to plug the phone into my computer to do this?

    care to walk me thru it?

    Garrett
  14. tommyk2005
    Offline

    tommyk2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bayonne,NJ
    download it on your pc and then put on your sd card (plug usb on pc and droid) select copy files to and from pc. get rom manager free for now, and select install rom from sd card
  15. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    this is after i wipe the data, correct? because if so, then im stuck again. i dont remember the password i setup for my gmail account to log-in to it to get to the market.

    Garrett
  16. tommyk2005
    Offline

    tommyk2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bayonne,NJ
    yeah you need your account details. go into gmail. you should see your account name do not know about the password
  17. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    ok, my retardedness has resided for now. im going to try the wipe again and see if i can figure it out.

    Garrett
  18. warrior21
    Offline

    warrior21 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Before you wipe data/cache again make sure you have the .zip file for the rom on the root of your sd card. Right after you wipe you can flash the new rom and then reboot

    Sent from my Droid
  19. SSpeeDEMONSS
    Offline

    SSpeeDEMONSS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    norwalk, socal
    wait, what? now how do i do that?

    is that "apply sdcard:update.zip"?

    Garrett
  20. huskerkate
    Offline

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    hey, welcome aboard!! first post is helping somebody out - exactly what this forum is all about - nice job!! i hope you stick around, and stay involved!!!

Search tags for this page
backupandwipe droidx
,
how to backup and wipe android
,
how to backup data on lg vortex
,

how to backup lg vortex

,

lg vortex back up data

,

lg vortex backup

,
what is wipe data and cache in cwd