[HOW TO] Add reboot to power menu

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by droidxchat, Dec 6, 2010.

  1. droidxchat

    droidxchat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2010
  2. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    You da man!
     
  3. thepolishguy

    thepolishguy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very cool mod. Thank you. The only problem now -I have applied it but can't use it bc it turns my Gingerbread Keyboard into a midget. Jk jk. Just having a little fun with the gingerbread kb issue.

    thanks again. I will try and report back if I notice any wierdness.
     
  4. andylulzyou

    andylulzyou Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome, now if only I had any idea how to do this :(
     
  5. thepolishguy

    thepolishguy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe Fab will create and update.zip for us all to simplify it. Is there a certain step you need help with?
     
  6. andylulzyou

    andylulzyou Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've never really done anything like this before, but I'm guessing I find system/framework/ (PC Mode?) and past it into the folder and overwrite?

    And I don't really know how to use root explorer or anything like that at all.. would love to learn though
     
  7. droidxchat

    droidxchat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you know how to use adb you can mount system then adb push the file from a location on your computer (say C:\android.policy.jar) to /system/framework/, then chmod it to 644, then unmount system

    if this all sounds like gibberish to you, maybe someone can put it into an update.zip
     
  8. andylulzyou

    andylulzyou Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I'm going to try to learn to use root explorer.. seems like a good thing to know.
     
  9. droidxchat

    droidxchat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    its simple, the only things you need to know is you can hold down your finger on a file to bring up a menu for it, and if it says you cant blahblahblah because the current directory is not rewritable, just make it rewritable by hitting the r/w button at the top
     
  10. andylulzyou

    andylulzyou Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay so basically I overwrite the android.services.jar then I open up root explorer find the file and longpress it and hit the r/w button?
     
  11. carlz28

    carlz28 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    No, from within Root Explorer, find the file that you downloaded to your SD card, long-press it and select "copy" or "move", either will work. Then navigate to /system/framework/ and then hit the "paste" button. If you aren't in R/W mode, it will give you a pop-up warning you as such. Simply switch to R/W then paste the file.

    But be careful, over-writing files in the /framework folder "may" make your phone reboot. Some times it does, sometimes it doesn't. Depends on what file and how your pushing the file to the phone.

    Before doing ANY of this, always make a back up, just in case.
     
  12. andylulzyou

    andylulzyou Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay if it causes the phone to reboot will it still work? Or will I have to do it again


    EDIT: And wow your holiday theme is amazingggggg.. any chance of us seeing that on Apex? ^_^
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2010
Search tags for this page
add option reboot to power off menu
,

add reboot to power menu android

,
advanced power menu gingerbread
,
android forums add reboot to menu galaxy prevail gingerbread
,
android reboot in power menu
,
andtoid policy jar advance power menu
,
extended power menu gingerbread
,
how to add extended power menu
,
how to add reboot android power menu
,
how to add reboot to android power menu