1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

[HOW TO] Add reboot to power menu

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by droidxchat, Dec 6, 2010.

  1. droidxchat
    Offline

    droidxchat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2010
  2. Fabolous
    Offline

    Fabolous Superuser Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    You da man!
  3. thepolishguy
    Offline

    thepolishguy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very cool mod. Thank you. The only problem now -I have applied it but can't use it bc it turns my Gingerbread Keyboard into a midget. Jk jk. Just having a little fun with the gingerbread kb issue.

    thanks again. I will try and report back if I notice any wierdness.
  4. andylulzyou
    Offline

    andylulzyou New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome, now if only I had any idea how to do this :(
  5. thepolishguy
    Offline

    thepolishguy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe Fab will create and update.zip for us all to simplify it. Is there a certain step you need help with?
  6. andylulzyou
    Offline

    andylulzyou New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've never really done anything like this before, but I'm guessing I find system/framework/ (PC Mode?) and past it into the folder and overwrite?

    And I don't really know how to use root explorer or anything like that at all.. would love to learn though
  7. droidxchat
    Offline

    droidxchat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you know how to use adb you can mount system then adb push the file from a location on your computer (say C:\android.policy.jar) to /system/framework/, then chmod it to 644, then unmount system

    if this all sounds like gibberish to you, maybe someone can put it into an update.zip
  8. andylulzyou
    Offline

    andylulzyou New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think I'm going to try to learn to use root explorer.. seems like a good thing to know.
  9. droidxchat
    Offline

    droidxchat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    its simple, the only things you need to know is you can hold down your finger on a file to bring up a menu for it, and if it says you cant blahblahblah because the current directory is not rewritable, just make it rewritable by hitting the r/w button at the top
  10. andylulzyou
    Offline

    andylulzyou New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay so basically I overwrite the android.services.jar then I open up root explorer find the file and longpress it and hit the r/w button?
  11. carlz28
    Offline

    carlz28 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, from within Root Explorer, find the file that you downloaded to your SD card, long-press it and select "copy" or "move", either will work. Then navigate to /system/framework/ and then hit the "paste" button. If you aren't in R/W mode, it will give you a pop-up warning you as such. Simply switch to R/W then paste the file.

    But be careful, over-writing files in the /framework folder "may" make your phone reboot. Some times it does, sometimes it doesn't. Depends on what file and how your pushing the file to the phone.

    Before doing ANY of this, always make a back up, just in case.
  12. andylulzyou
    Offline

    andylulzyou New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay if it causes the phone to reboot will it still work? Or will I have to do it again


    EDIT: And wow your holiday theme is amazingggggg.. any chance of us seeing that on Apex? ^_^
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2010
  13. carlz28
    Offline

    carlz28 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It "should" still work. Since the file is still the one you pasted. Remember to change the permissions to 644 before rebooting.
    644 looks like this...with the X's indicating its checked.

    x x o
    x o o
    x o o


    Don't forget, it will take longer to boot the first time around. I just tried it and it took about 2 minutes for it to boot. 2nd reboot was normal.



    And from what I've read on here and another forum, my holiday theme does work on Apex.
    Make a backup.
    Flash it. No need to wipe anything.
    See if it works for you.
    If not, use your backup. :)
  14. andylulzyou
    Offline

    andylulzyou New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just flashed your theme, took hella long to load up the first time I was getting a little scared, but I love it.. it's perfect for this time of year.

    Do you mind if I post it in the Apex theme thread, I'd link your original post of course.



    Also will I be able to just reflash Nextheme over this or am I going to have to restore backwards because of the bootani change?
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2010
  15. dvader
    Offline

    dvader New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome. Thank you!!
  16. ScottyDsntKnow
    Offline

    ScottyDsntKnow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow thanks, worked like a champ and literally took 2 minutes.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  17. jellybean420
    Offline

    jellybean420 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    So is it just as easy to add reboot into recovery? Or is that harder. If so would you be able to do it? Or point me in the right direction. I just dont know what program i need to open .jar files. Thanks!
  18. droidxchat
    Offline

    droidxchat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd like to do this too, but unfortunately I didn't actually edit the jar file, I just took the one from the Droid 2, which comes with Reboot already in the power menu. I haven't seen any Droid X rom that has boot to recovery in the power menu. Tonight I'll decompile the jar and see if I can make sense of it.
  19. budmonster
    Offline

    budmonster Guest

    Im just on 2.2 stock with root. Is there a way to add reboot and reboot recovery options to the power button menu?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  20. droidxchat
    Offline

    droidxchat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you can follow the instructions in the first post to get reboot in power menu, it will stick work on stock. however, I think i would save a copy of the original and put it back when you want to update OTA. no one has figured out how to put reboot to recovery in power menu yet from what i know.
Search tags for this page
add option reboot to power off menu
,

add reboot to power menu android

,
add rebot to recovery on power buton
,
android forums add reboot to menu galaxy prevail gingerbread
,
android reboot in power menu
,
andtoid policy jar advance power menu
,
edit power menu android
,
extended power menu gb
,
extended power menu gingerbread
,
how to add reboot android power menu
,

how to add reboot to android power menu

,
how to add reboot to power menu
,
how to add restart to power menu android
,
how to make make extended power menu jb no shutdownthread
,
simple method to add reboot option in power menu of android