how to add password to *86 voicemail

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by olinrich, Nov 28, 2009.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. olinrich
    Offline

    olinrich New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I cannot locate how to edit the *86 entry so I can add my password.
  2. kpj313
    Offline

    kpj313 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bring up your voice mail contact, then use the menu button to edit contact. Mine looks like this *86,,XXXX# (obviously XXX being the password)
    Use the bottom right key to shift when editing the contact number and use the pause button after the *86 and then your password, your pause may vary.
  3. olinrich
    Offline

    olinrich New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thx for the help. However, my *86 entry does not have a "rolodex" card beside it, only a "+". Menu doesn't give me an option to edit..... do I have to add it to "People"?
  4. olinrich
    Offline

    olinrich New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    VZW Tech support finally got me the answer.... go to Settings - Call settings - Voicemail
    There u can enter password!!!
  5. JackButler
    Offline

    JackButler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So by adding the pause and password after this, it forgoes the need for manual password input? How do I do pause?

    I thought it was weird it was *86 and not my actual phone#.
  6. olinrich
    Offline

    olinrich New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    The displayed dial keyboard has a P and W key... Pause and Wait. Wait requires an actual flash/keypress. Pause is just a delay.

    I used a single P. Prev phones called for multiple P's sometimes or the pwd was sent too soon.
  7. RichStevenson
    Offline

    RichStevenson Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Medina, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes that's correct. Enter a couple commas for the pause as kpj313 shows after the *86
  8. JackButler
    Offline

    JackButler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great, took me a few trys to get it working, but it is!
    Thank you very much!
    "go to Settings - Call settings - Voicemail
    There u can enter password!!! " FWIW, this didn't show up on mine, or no option too do it.
    SO on my Eris for ease of using it...I created another voicemail "person", did the above password prompting, then added a person shortcut to my homescreen...ha, no phone digits needed now!
    Love this place, phone ain't too bad either:>)
  9. Blizzard
    Offline

    Blizzard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    On my Eris, I change the voice mail # and when I press save it says "no changes have been made". What am I doing wrong?
  10. ATeamTim
    Offline

    ATeamTim New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, this is official. From the home screen press "menu" > Settings > Call Settings > Voicemail > The cursor should be next to the number blinking. Use the backspace arrow and delete what is in there (should be *86) If you live in a VZW area put *86PPxxxx (xxxx = voicemail password). If you live in a extended network put Your 10 digit mobile telephone number with no hypens or spaces, then PP then your password, then press ok. It will save. When you want to check your voice mail, simply open your phone dialer and press and hold 1.
  11. mhotovec
    Offline

    mhotovec Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I like it, thanks for the tip folks.
  12. Eric
    Offline

    Eric Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ATeamTim - Thank you! Works great!
  13. Blizzard
    Offline

    Blizzard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I still cannot get this to work. After I enter the revised number *86,,,XXXX comes up and then I get a message saying "no changes were made".

    Help!
  14. sgm-co
    Offline

    sgm-co Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the tip. how the heck do I remove voice mail notification? I've checked my voice mail but it still shows up as a new notification.
  15. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Call yourself with you cell.....It's a VZW bug...
Search tags for this page

*86 voicemail

,
add password to verizon voicemail
,
add password to voicemail android
,
add password to voicemail droid
,
how do i add password to access voice mail
,
how to add password to voicemail
,

how to add password to voicemail droid

,
how to add voicemail password droid
,
password for voicemail android
,
verizon add password to voicemail