How Smooth is your Droid?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Krish, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. Krish
    Offline

    Krish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :motdroidvert:
    I been playing around with droid, htc eris, and htc hero. Noticed that the HTC phones seem alot more smooth when it comes to using programs not just the homescreen

    Example: Using maverick app or Compass on droid while the compass moves around moves it moves sort of smooth even when the refresh rate is fixed. When the same app used on htc hero + eris its alot more smooth and fluid. The htc phones lag more when it comes to opening and closing programs but when actually in the apps, the refresh rates make it look so smooth and fun to use. I thought the Htc phones had slower cpu's/gpu's not sure whats needed for the refresh rate.

    Im don't think its just my droid because my cousins is the same. I have the phone OCed to 1ghz bugless beast 7.5 the homescreen has gotten more smooth but programs are not smooth at all, their choppy. Does anyone else have this issue? or a fix around this. It makes the phone less appealing compared to the htc phones. I don't mean to make the droid look bad because i love it and the phone is getting better but i want it to work more fluid. Was hoping that the OC would help it.
  2. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Try setting the min cpu speed to 250.... see if that helps.
  3. CatsTide
    Offline

    CatsTide New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bama
    mine seems to be quite smooth although i haven't compared it to the other phones you mentioned.
    how would that help?....i'm just trying to learn. i had my min set to 800
  4. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    The stock or default min is 125, so upping it to 250 will produce a little more spunk when the phone has been sitting at idle.

    I have noticed it does perform better with a min of 250 on mine.

    Having it at 800 min is fine too, as long as you are not having battery issues.
  5. Krish
    Offline

    Krish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'v tested the Setcpu to change min and max to 1gz and other settings down but same no go still slow.

    Edit: Also i noticed when u move the map around in google map or maverick or any other map app its choppy on the htc phones but smooth and fluid on droid. Same with working around normal things such as scrolling, opening and closing app drawer all smoother on droid its just the graphics that are choppy.
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  6. formerstormuser
    Offline

    formerstormuser New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since going to BB my phone has been perfect. I was running 2.1 but it just wasn't quite right . Sweeter home wouldn't run more than an hour our so, then it would FC and freeze all the time. Now I have been running sweeter home and at 1gig and my phone is smoother faster and more responsive than stock. The battery life is also much better than when I was running 2.1
  7. StepDroid
    Offline

    StepDroid Official DF Vendor Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa ROLL TIDE, AL
    maybe you just want the phone to reach speeds it's just not compable of... my phone is smooth like cognac.. especially since i took launcher off.
  8. CatsTide
    Offline

    CatsTide New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bama
    roll tide brother:icon_ banana:
  9. robotkiller
    Offline

    robotkiller New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've noticed that some home replacement apps (like Home++) are actually smoother than stock when it comes to screen transitions. Also, don't forget that the Droid is pushing a significantly higher resolution than the Eris or iPhone.

    It also seems that some kernels are a bit faster than others. I flashed Sholes 2.0.4 with t3hsteve's kernel patch and certain laggy aspects (like the keyboard) is better and the overall speed seems better than ever. I would hold out for improved ROMs - I bet the laggy issues will get better over time.
  10. Krish
    Offline

    Krish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im not saying i want it super smooth like iphone :ph34r: wish it was lol x= but i was just wondering since the specs are better than the htc phones shouldnt it be able to do what the HTC phones do plus more? performance wise i mean.

    Edit: Reply to robotkiller - yea home++ is def smoother when it comes to homescreen but with the BB OC i like it without any addtional home replacement. Those don't really affect the system performance when it comes to the apps. I tried sholes but it gave me basicly the same performance when it came to those key aspects. I don't believe its such a big deal but was just trying to see if there was a way to make the droid better in those areas.
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  11. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am also running Bugless Beast 7.5 and have mine set at 950mhz. It runs flawlessly...... However this was not always the case. After I used my phone for about a month or so and installed and uninstalled lots of apps my phone started to seem slower and had a lag.

    The fix for me at the time was a factory reset. After I did the factory reset it was just like brand new again. When I run it factory I turn off all screen animations also which speeds things up. (bugless beast has animations off from the start)

    I don't know if this is correct or not, but it sure fixed my lag issues. It's kinda like an old computer that seemed to get slower with time, and when you do a complete reformat and reinstall of the operating system it's like new again.

    Since my factory reset my phone has been flawless and fast again. I bet that will help out those that feel their phones have slowed over time.
  12. Krish
    Offline

    Krish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well thing is i just installed the BB 7.5 at 1ghz after factory reseting so everything was whiped clean. The animations were turned on after installing.
  13. CatsTide
    Offline

    CatsTide New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bama
    smoked glass at 1.1GHz is pretty darn smooth :icon_ banana:
  14. Krish
    Offline

    Krish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hows the refresh rate when using apps like a compass
  15. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bugless Beast is a slow ROM. Try another. I can post a Nandroid of mine if you want to see whats its like to really fly :)
  16. CatsTide
    Offline

    CatsTide New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bama
    when i read your post i opened up compass to check it....it's seamless but like i said,nothing to compare it to.
  17. wil318466
    Offline

    wil318466 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Agreed. Its like windows. lol. I think they just need to get the kinks out of the OS. Its good, its just not perfect yet.

    -Wil
  18. MrKleen
    Offline

    MrKleen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would turn off the animations, it just slows things down. Also I run Advanced Task Manager, but I exclude all things that are needed and that I run often. I only kill the fluff type stuff that we run all the time when I am done with it. With ATM I don't even have to have it running all the time, since it has a widget that you can just tap to kill everything.

    Again, with any of those killer programs you have to set up exclusions for all the important stuff.

    I also imagine that 2.1 will have some improvements. Things will only get better. However I am not going back to stock, I am very pleased with Bugless Beast and will wait.
  19. natty_lite
    Offline

    natty_lite New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Unless this is prevalent in an overwhelming amount of applications you're using mutually between both devices, then you might wanna point your finger in the direction of the software.
  20. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    My Droid runs pretty damn smooth..........

    I'm very happy with the way it performs :) it gets better as the months go by it seems...
Search tags for this page

droid 3 slide not smooth

,

how to make htc smooth

,

how to make phone screen smooth

,

how to make phone screen smooth again

,

how to make your android phone run smooth

,

make android smooth fluid

,

what will make my android 4.0.4 run smoother faster and with