How safe is experimenting with development on real device?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Dr. Jekyll, Nov 17, 2009.

1. Dr. Jekyll

Dr. Jekyll New Member

Greetings,

I'm a Java developer by day and a soon to be Droid owner. I've started reading some about Android development. I understand that the emulators are available and are definitely the place to experiment, but I was wondering how likely it is that one could brick, or otherwise damage an actual phone by creating home grown applications and deploying them to the live device?

Thanks.
  2. RinTinTigger

RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

How safe is breathing experimentally into a gas-oven?

Kidding :D

Well, if you experiment, things can happen.
    For me the first steps to be taken should be

-be able to reinstall "out of the box OS"
    -be able to backup/restore stuff
    -know some about hardware and developing therefor

If you check al these boxes true and can spare a device (for its GONE if you kill it ^^)
    Then start developing.

Maybe there is a software simulator like there is for ALL blackberry devices. Check google on that!

Tigger
  3. Erron

Erron Developer Developer

There is a simulator they give you when you get the sdk. Make sure you test on that first! You could really do some damage otherwise.
  4. Dr. Jekyll

Dr. Jekyll New Member

Thanks.

As I said, I am aware of the simulators. I just wondered if it was reasonably safe to take a working "Hello World" from the simulator and deploying to the phone just for the joy of seeing it actually work.

I'll stick to the simulator until I acquire more (a lot more!) knowledge.
  5. derekbelrose

derekbelrose New Member

I actually used my phone by accident when I was following the tutorial. The hello world app is not going to brick your phone.
  6. gtjokester

gtjokester New Member