How many people only use one screen?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Matth3w, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I only use the home screen. I have Pure Calendar widget on a second screen if I am too lazy to go to the calendar, but really I would say I only use the main screen.

    I have the 2.1 News/Weather widget (wish I could choose who I want the news stories to come from though :( ), the default power strip widget (I think it goes nice with the smoked glass and the default rocky looking gray background), four App Organizer "folders", the phone icon, and one 1x1 More Icon widget. And I still have an empty space.

    Are those of you using 4-5 screens just not using app organizer/more icons, or should I be using more "cool" widgets that I don't know about?
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2010
  2. ss13
    Offline

    ss13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I pretty much use 2 screens. Main with App Organizer, and screen 1 ( to the left ) just has the Power widget and Weather bug...and I could get those on the main screen but I have Mototorch and Flashlight there for quick access.
  3. Big Cam
    Offline

    Big Cam New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    I'm on 2.01 ad I use all 3.

    I have BW on the main page along with all the regular phone stuff, contacts, browser, texting, phone icon.

    Then the left side is power mamnagement, wifi, and my 2 email icons

    Then the right side is all music, pandora, slacker, imusic, iheart.

    I'm looking forward to 5 screens just so I don't have to start using folders.
  4. spillner
    Offline

    spillner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western NY
    I use 5 screens. Each screen is an organizer in itself. My first screen is filled with all the apps I use the most, 2nd is games, 3rd is tools, 4th widgets, 5th is people I call the most.
  5. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Obviously it's your choice, but wouldn't it be quicker/easier to click the phone then favorites than it would be to swipe a screen a few times? Just curious as to your take on that...
  6. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    i have 14 screens on my home screen lol

    home
    fav contacts/call log
    email, sms, gtalk..etc..
    music
    games
    fun (fml and funnyjokes apps)
    calender
    tools
    lists
    food (barcode scanner and groceryking..etc)
    social (facebook, twitter, myspace..etc)
    news (google news, eonline, foxnews...etc)
    radio (droid live, cherryR, pandara, talk radio..etc)
    office (who wants to even talk about that crap lol...etc)
    and my homemade cardock screen. :D

    course you need sweeterhome preview 2 for all tha on one page :D pm me if yur inta that
  7. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Personally I like Home++ default but not until they make an SMS and GMail icon instead of a bunch of crappy ones like voice that I don't use/need.
  8. spillner
    Offline

    spillner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western NY
    The 5th screen is only one swipe to the left for me. I could use the favorites, just like flipping to a screen I guess.
  9. LuN3yDaV3
    Offline

    LuN3yDaV3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I second this! You almost have yours setup like mine, except all my multimedia shortcuts are on the leftmost screen. Having 5 will be great because as of right now, I don't have any more room for widgets. I have Youtube widget on my media screen, google search on main, then weather and power management on the 3rd.
  10. CDB
    Offline

    CDB New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Severn, MD
    To a degree, I know what you mean but it's also about an individuals use of the phone. For instance, when I look at your home screen, I don't see a music player widget or even just the app itself. You may have it in your "Entertainment" folder but for me, because of how often I use it, adding an extra screen press to something that only took one (on my home screen) press to open, would now take twice as long being in a folder using your method. Some people also want to know the weather forecast 'at a glance'. With your setup, todays is shown with the forecast one click away...which might just be one click too many for some.

    So it's not about what cool widgets you're missing out on, it's just about how you decide to effectively organize your phone and what makes sense to you and your needs.

    I'm a 3-screen user - Car, Home, Work sort of thing.
  11. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    for the most part (i change stuff around a LOT) i only end up using two screens..
    1 has schedule, DF bookmark, handcent, gtalk, droid light, gmail, beautiful home, beautiful wifi, and a brightness widget.
    2 has other tools i use a bunch (but not so much) like tunewiki, pandora, lightsaber app (shut up), pdanet, etc..
  12. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I don't use my phone for watching movies (I have a 250GB Archos5 portable video player for that) or listening to music, so that could be a difference...
  13. spillner
    Offline

    spillner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western NY
    Hoiw do you change the way the power strip looks. I'd like it to be more transparent.
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2010
  14. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I don't think you can....
  15. spillner
    Offline

    spillner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western NY
    Thats weird, the one in your pic looks like its a little transparent.
  16. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    LOL, you know what? It does...perhaps that's a function of the ROM I installed? Before it was solid, I didn't notice until you mentioned that it is now transparent.

    EDIT: Seeing as how it looks just like the app drawer launcher thing, I would guess it is a result of the smoked glass theme.
  17. huskur
    Offline

    huskur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,868
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lower Delaware

    HEY!!! Do you have my phone? Same setup here......weird:icon_eek:
  18. xliderider
    Offline

    xliderider New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Using Home++ setup with 3 screens, was a little too laggy with 5 screens and I found myself not using the extra screens after loading Apps Organizer and using the folders and Home++'s Power Strip shortcuts.
  19. cplus
    Offline

    cplus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Before I found Apps Organizer I was wanting more 'home screens'.. Now, I'm just waiting for 'cool' widgets to come out so that I have something to fill the other four screens with.
  20. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I can't wait until you can create or get more buttons for the Power Strip. As it stands, no SMS and GMail button is kind of silly.
Search tags for this page

droid dna only have one home screen get additional screens