How is call quality on Bionic? Especially outgoing...family member has poor hearing

Thorlin

Reaction score
Hi, this is my first post here.

I have been using an LG Dare for almost 3 years now....and have been contemplating a smart phone since my two years was up....but haven't been serious about it till recently.

I would read the reviews at phonearena, and was specifically looking for a phone that was described as having very good call quality. My mother is elderly and has hearing problems (she does have hearing aids)....and was wanting a phone that had excellent outgoing clarity...and inbound would be nice too, but was mainly concerned about what it sounds like at her end.

Well phonearena reviewed the Bionic and said it had excellent call quality in both directions. So I thought this would be a great candidate...then the more research I did, I started finding other reviews, like at CNET, etc. that said the call quality to be only average. I went to my local Verizon store yesterday, and tried a live call...unfortunately the place was busy so there was some background noise. I thought the incoming call quality was much better than my Dare. My mom thought the call was better, but the background noise I think spoiled the test.

Overall I was pretty impressed with the speed of using the apps on the phone, and I thought the display was very nice. I have never used a smartphone, so this would be my first time.

I am in a 4g area.

So to all of you Bionic users, and from the looks of it, lots of Droid users in general, what would you say about the call quality, both outbound and inbound on the Bionic? Are there other current Droid phones that are better, or as good that would be less expensive? I am eligible for the $50 new every two with Verizon, and they have the $100 trade in for non-smart phones till the end of the month. I figure if I am going to take the smartphone plunge, I may as well get a really good one, and so far the Bionic looks to be an excellent phone.