How I got Wi-Fi Tether AND 600MHz!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by crdnilfan, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [How-To] Wi-Fi Tether AND 600MHz!

    This has been confirmed working! It also fixes some automatic brightness bugs! I've added a tutorial of how to do it, as well as all the files needed.

    Here is another "do it all" kernel. http://www.sendspace.com/file/sz98ny Please test this first and post if it works. Thanks to CKyle22

    It's recommended that you do a nandroid backup before doing this, its a good practice to get in to.
    Download these two .img's and flash_image from the following links. Or go to the bottom and download the .zip of all of them.

    Wifi kernel
    boot-new.img
    OC kernel (thanks to tasmanian_droid)
    boot.img
    Flash_Image (New mirror, mediafire was not working)
    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=3DKHNCD6

    Place the two .img's in your sdcard root, and flash_image in /system/bin/, which is done by first putting flash_image in your /sdcard, then doing
    Code:
    adb shell mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    adb shell cat /sdcard/flash_image > /system/bin/flash_image
    adb shell chmod 755 /system/bin/flash_image
    
    then boot into recovery mode.

    From recovery mode, go to mount options and mount both /system and /sdcard, then run from adb
    Code:
    adb shell /system/bin/flash_image boot /sdcard/bootwifi.img
    
    reboot into Android, run the Wifi tether program (http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...d-wifi-tether-wireless-tether-root-users.html) once, then reboot back into recovery mode and run
    Code:
    adb shell /system/bin/flash_image boot /sdcard/boot.img
    
    now reboot your phone into Android, use SetCPU (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=505419 or in Market as donate version for $.99) to overclock your CPU to 600MHz, and reboot into recovery mode again, go to mount options and mount both /system and /sdcard, now execute through adb
    Code:
    adb shell /system/bin/flash_image boot /sdcard/bootwifi.img
    
    reboot again and you have both wifi tethering, a working wifi card, and 600MHz!!

    EDIT: I've ran benchmarks, as well as had SetCPU read the CPU freq, it's definitely running at 600MHz!! I can also scale it down to 500MHz and then back up to 600MHz, so it doesn't need to stay at 600MHz to keep this strange "glitch" applied.
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2010
  2. pcandroid
    Offline

    pcandroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you put up some detail instructions I and Im sure many other people would be willing to test.
  3. thistle
    Offline

    thistle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So basically the sholes boot.img has the appropriate tweak to allow 600, in addition to wifi and tethering? It should work then without needing to flash devil's img then I would imagine.
  4. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    first post edited to include full tutorial, the guys over at alldroid confirmed my little glitch, it will work, enjoy everybody!
  5. Stormwulf
    Offline

    Stormwulf New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The "flash_image" link keeps returning a "No servers currently available with requested data, please try again".
  6. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re-uploading everything to be hosting here at droidforums, its in a .zip so just 1 download!
  7. Stormwulf
    Offline

    Stormwulf New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, got it.
  8. Xerozix
    Offline

    Xerozix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Do I lose all of my info when I apply this?
  9. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried the single img, once in, SetCPU did in fact report 600, but as soon as I moved the slider back down, 550 was as high as it would go. But stats did show 600 ..
  10. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You will lose nothing!! Thats why its awesome :icon_ banana:
  11. ChevyNo1
    Offline

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no this is only touching the boot image
  12. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright, thats 2 reports of the frankin-kernel not working correctly. One more report of it not working and I'll remove it.
  13. Xerozix
    Offline

    Xerozix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Hehe ok. Now to find my USB cable.
  14. Stormwulf
    Offline

    Stormwulf New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I noticed when you re-packaged the zip to contain all the files, there was a "boot-ocwifi.img" which is not mentioned in your first post. Just wondering.


    Also, I've tried the command lines from the first post, and can't seem to get the "flash_image" file to the /system/bin, I'm sure I'm just missing something.
  15. crdnilfan
    Offline

    crdnilfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ya the bootocwifi doesn't work correctly.

    to copy flash_image to /system/bin, first put it in your sdcard, then run from adb
    Code:
    adb shell cat /sdcard/flash_image > /system/bin/flash_image
    adb shell chmod 755 /system/bin/flash_image
    
    i'm updating the first post with this also, thanks, i forgot that.
  16. Oliver84
    Offline

    Oliver84 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does 50mhz really make that much of a difference? Is it worth the battery life that you sacrifice for it?
  17. bL33d
    Offline

    bL33d Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    illinois
    Ya and if set cpu to 250 while sleeping u shouldn't notice a diffrence in battery life.
  18. pcandroid
    Offline

    pcandroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    check /system/xbin
  19. zerosignal0
    Offline

    zerosignal0 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    EDIT: NEVERMIND
    This didnt work for my 2.0.1 install. I followed the instructions and after booting up and going to purchase setcpu I found that as soon as I would do anything in the marketplace my phone would reboot. So I am restoring back from nandroid now. Maybe it should be posted (even though it should already be implied) to make sure you make a full backup first in case there is problems with the procedure.
    EDIT2: Well after trying to apply everything again apparently I have it working now. I noticed after the post that I was having strange issues with the sdcard trying to restore as well so I am wondering if I may need to reformat my sdcard... I will test the wifi teether in a little while and let ya know how it turns out.
    Thanks!
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2010
  20. revengeofthenerd
    Offline

    revengeofthenerd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it's alive...IT'S ALIVE!!! Muah-ha-ha-ha-ha!!!!!!
Search tags for this page

600 mhz good for tethering