How I got great battery life

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by sin vicious, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. sin vicious
    Offline

    sin vicious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tamarac, Fl.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok first i know there are multiple threads saying task managers dont work, but let me be the first to say perhaps the Popular ones dont.. but i found one that does work good for the incredible.

    I tried to use Advanced Task Killer from ReChild (didnt work for nothing), saw no difference in battery life. I tried a whole hosts of others.. nothing. Then I tried Advanced Task Cleaner Pro from Bright Wallace and i saw immediate BIG improvements. One of the most notable differences between this app and the others was the amount of listed running apps to ignore or kill that all the other task killers didnt pick up on.

    I now have GPS on all the time, surf and do everything I use to and get maybe 40% better battry life. I suspect that the biggest issue with battery is int he Sense UI applications.. For the most part when i set those apps to auto kill thats when i began to see big improvements. So this gives me hope that a ROM update will improve this issue.
     
  2. GryphonD
    Offline

    GryphonD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Notice any real difference between Advanced Task Killer Pro & 2.0?
     
  3. sin vicious
    Offline

    sin vicious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tamarac, Fl.
    Ratings:
    +0
    the one i use is advanced task cleaner not killer.. As far as 2.0, I didnt try it. But they are from the same people so I dont imagine theres too difference.
     
  4. Lynx
    Offline

    Lynx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you set it to auto-kill your tasks after a set period of time or when you put the phone to sleep?
     
  5. sin vicious
    Offline

    sin vicious Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tamarac, Fl.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not by time, but yes there is an auto kill when placed on sleep (dim) mode.
     
  6. kmo
    Offline

    kmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Looks like it's worth a try... :)

    Edit: Downloaded Advanced Task Cleaner Pro, guess I'll have to get into the tutorial a bit. Looks like quite a few options to go through. There are certain apps I want to keep running, looks like they did keep gmail on the "do not kill" list as a default. That's god for me since google/gmail is my primary email.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2010
  7. zeus_r6
    Offline

    zeus_r6 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Going to give the app a shot...
     
  8. DJxEDxD
    Offline

    DJxEDxD New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow glad I stumbled onto this thread thanx OP . Since I installed last night bout 7:30 or so now 3:00pm bout 19 or so hours I still have 60% Batt left where i'd usually have had to charge it by now . This is with gmail ,adv tsk cln 2.0,HTC sense,and Gtalk running in ignore list meaning these will not shut down. This is awesome will have to tell my Budy that just got an Evo and was pitching bout the battery my phone just got INCREDIBLE AGAIN!
     
  9. zeus_r6
    Offline

    zeus_r6 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I killed my battery in about 4 hours today....must have task cleaner set up incorrectly :icon_eek:
     
  10. DJxEDxD
    Offline

    DJxEDxD New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok update from my last post over night to today when I made my last post was sitting at idle . In the last hour and a half I've been using it hardcore web surfing on opera using my photo album editing pics and posting on this forum I'm down to 18% Batt life but all in all its still better then it was before ATC2.0 I'd normally have had to charge like right after i start browsing with it which just means the phone itself is just a power hoag .ATC2.0 won't help when browsing cause your phone needs this power to operate.It only stops stuff in the background .
     
  11. kmo
    Offline

    kmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Been using it now for several days and don't see a big difference. I think that the android system itself does a decent job of maintaining apps. Unless I'm missing something with this app I don't think it's necessary, at least for me. I also have back up batteries so no big deal to swap a battery when I get low on power. I'm definitely open to hearing how you guys have set the preferences to this app. Maybe I'm not doing something in the set up to get optimum performance.
     
  12. fisdu
    Offline

    fisdu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good point, can you guys post up how you did the configs? What you did/did not set to auto kill
     
  13. jnmilli352
    Offline

    jnmilli352 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    auto kill list





    Do you think you can get a screen shot of your auto kill list?
     
  14. egobuster1
    Offline

    egobuster1 Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    just root and underclock while screen off..works the best
     
  15. zeus_r6
    Offline

    zeus_r6 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 SetCPU for root users