How exactly does VoEVDO work on the TB?

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by jimmyco2008, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. jimmyco2008
    Offline

    jimmyco2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    3G Florida
    Don't get your hopes up haha, just a question-

    I got QPST to work with my Droid X here, and it got me to thinking that if we figured out exactly what programming settings enable the TB's simultaneous voice and data over 3G to work, maybe we could all mod our phones in QPST to do the same? I mean they have 3G radios too, so theoretically it's possible...

    So if you know anything useful, please share with the rest of the class!

    ^ Posted this in the Droid Hacks thread, thought it could go here, too.

    So has anyone out there gone into QPST and figured this out for the TB?
  2. Lucas5
    Offline

    Lucas5 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i thought the thunderbolt can do voice and data simultaneously because it has two radios.
  3. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not possible, op. Needs newer hardware.
  4. UNC
    Offline

    UNC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    The CDMA radio in the TB is a newer generation than the ones found in all previous phones. Won't work.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  5. christiansectas
    Offline

    christiansectas New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At this moment I am on my phone in call while i surf the net...Yes, you can talk and surf at the same time...Love my TB!
  6. givmedew
    Offline

    givmedew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St Pete, FL and Aurora, IL
    If you can call and surf on the tb then you are in a 4g area. 3g cdma doesn't support that function.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  7. christiansectas
    Offline

    christiansectas New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    givmedew...You are RIGHT!
  8. DaWolf85
    Offline

    DaWolf85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Really? You've tested that? Because my understanding is you do get simultaneous voice and data over 3G.
  9. gujupmp88
    Offline

    gujupmp88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i can surf and talk at the same time, and i can tell you with certainty that i am not in a 4g area. closest 4g area is NYC which is 60 miles away.
  10. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SVDO does not make use if the 4G radio. It's an extension of the 1x-EVDO tech.
  11. UNC
    Offline

    UNC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Incorrect. Surf and talk over 3g. Not too shabby either, I thought it would be slow, but not really much slower than normal 3g.
  12. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    +1! It was pretty cool today running my laptop off of my Mobile HotSpot while I was talking on the phone at the same time! :)



    Message delivered via a Bolt of lightning
  13. yurdle
    Offline

    yurdle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Exactly, Alot of people are getting confused about this....
    The tb is capable of doing voice and data at the same time on both the 3g and 4g networks.
    Its both been announced by Verizon and been tested by a couple users on this forum.

    Honestly if I had the money and wasn't worried about the battery life complaints I've been hearing I would definitely buy the tb.
    Don't live anywhere close to 4g but it seems like a pretty great phone for the most part.
  14. jimmyco2008
    Offline

    jimmyco2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    3G Florida
    I gotta say, that's pretty jank...

    You think Verizon will ever give older 3G phones the ability?
  15. yurdle
    Offline

    yurdle New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, the older phones do not have the hardware required to do both voice and data at the same time. It's all in the phones hardware... well not all but its a big part of it.. I'm sure Verizon had to do something on the network end to get it working too. But definitely need the hardware in the phone too.
Search tags for this page

nam programming htc thunderbolt

,

qpst htc thunderbolt