how do you use wireless tether?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by qwerty04, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. qwerty04
    Offline

    qwerty04 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i am currently running bugless beast 7.5 and it says it has wireless tethering. how do you use the wireless tether? im pretty new to all of this.
  2. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just press start tethering and then on your computer you should see "AndroidTether" as an available network on your computer/laptop/ps3.

    it's essentially using your phone as both a modem and a wireless router at the same time.
  3. qwerty04
    Offline

    qwerty04 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    where does it say start tethering?
  4. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it should say it right on the app when you open it. it will say "press to start tethering"
  5. qwerty04
    Offline

    qwerty04 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what is the app called because i do not see any app with wireless tether? sorry for being so difficult
  6. kevin1016
    Offline

    kevin1016 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It should be right in your app drawer. If it's not, it may not have been installed.
  7. qwerty04
    Offline

    qwerty04 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    its not in my app drawer. how do i install the wireless tether apk?
  8. kevin1016
    Offline

    kevin1016 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure. To the discontent of many here, I simply used the sholes app and everything was done for me. Couple clicks and done.
  9. thatguychuck
    Offline

    thatguychuck New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SD
  10. qwerty04
    Offline

    qwerty04 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    they're all listed experimental
  11. droidkm
    Offline

    droidkm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    pre3 works for sure just added it tonight. just install that, then run that app and click start tethering and you should see the androidtether network. add a password in settings and you're done. if you have issues, let your computer troubleshoot, i was able to connect to the phone but wasn't getting internet until i let the comp do it's repair deal and then it fixed it.
  12. thatguychuck
    Offline

    thatguychuck New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SD
    Ha! Well it's the "newest" experimental at least. Gave me an error message, though it still connected. I'm just going to stick with the pre3.
  13. qwerty04
    Offline

    qwerty04 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    after downloading the wireless tethering how do you install the apk?
  14. thatguychuck
    Offline

    thatguychuck New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SD
    Menu-Settings-Application-Unknown sources (checkmark)

    Put it on your SD card, locate with Astro, and open. You should see an install option there.
  15. blake2050
    Offline

    blake2050 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wifi tether comes with bugless beast if you do a nandroid restore but not the update.zip because the apk is located in the data folder and Im assuming you did the update which does not mess with the data folder. Easiest way (if you dont have many apps to back up) is to just do a nandroid restore....
  16. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine

    Many? I'd say just one or two. ;) Anyway i lost power at my home yesterday and finally got the chance to try the tether out! it worked awesome :icon_ banana: woot!
  17. styx
    Offline

    styx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  18. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I run Bugless Beast 7.5 and I've never been able to wireless tether. I did the tiwlan trick and still would not work. I just uninstalled the pre3 wireless tether app and installed the new pre4 and it immediately allowed me to connect my laptop and surf. I'm so pleased. I surfed for a few minutes and saw no anomalies. Hope it continues to work.
  19. blake2050
    Offline

    blake2050 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As long as you dont screw it up, it will... =) jk
  20. Droidfish
    Offline

    Droidfish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Deep South of NM
    Wifi Tether..... .......IS....... ......Awesome!
Search tags for this page
how to use droid as router
,

how to use droid razr as a wireless router

,
using droid for wireless hub/router