1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

How do you shoot 1080p video? No option for anything over SD in settings

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by edrock200, Oct 3, 2011.

  1. edrock200
    Offline

    edrock200 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm feeling really dumb, as I can't figure out how to shoot HD video with the bionic. I go to camcorder, settings, resolution and the highest I can go is 720x480. It's a bone stock bionic with the exception of an extended battery. What am I missing?
  2. gsDroid
    Offline

    gsDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    In the video options resolution can be set wo 1080 by scrolling to it. Slide down on the screen and 1080 is above 720.
  3. asghar
    Offline

    asghar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where you able to set this to 1080? I do not see anything above 720 also.
  4. tgyberg
    Offline

    tgyberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    213
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    It's in there for me, in the drop down.
  5. asghar
    Offline

    asghar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is your Widescreen options CHECKED or not? I only see the highest of 720.
  6. tgyberg
    Offline

    tgyberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    213
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    I dont have my widescreen checked.
  7. ConqSoft
    Offline

    ConqSoft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    You have to scroll the list. It's hard to find at first.
  8. asghar
    Offline

    asghar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Once I touch and hold the screen to scroll I see the blue bar on the right indicating me that I am all the way up.
  9. don_droid
    Offline

    don_droid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I had to touch the list and scroll down than back up to see the 1080p.
  10. km75
    Offline

    km75 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you have data encryption set up on the droid 3 it doesn't allow you to record in 1080 ( clearly states that if you select data encryption). I assume its the same with the bionic. That could be the problem in your case.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  11. asghar
    Offline

    asghar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I though the same, I have even tried saving it as VGA and go back into the menu but had no luck.

    While I am there I was looking at the camera settings also and am not sure how to set them for 8 MP either. By default it says Widescreen (unchecked) and 8MP images under it, does that mean I need to check it to get 8 MP images? Once I do check it the 8 MP part changes to 6MP images to match the screen. but as soon as I exit the Setting menu, it un-checks the box on its own.
  12. asghar
    Offline

    asghar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Never would have thought about the encryption level, I have Device data encryption UNCHECK and Storage encryption CHECK (don't have the option to uncheck it probably because I have work email coming to my phone. Would this keep me from doing 1080P and for that matter 8 MP on the camera also?
  13. km75
    Offline

    km75 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just checked for you. Selecting device data encryption doesn't give the warning about not being able to record in higher resolutions, only storage encryption does. So that is definitely why you can't record in 1080. That being said the warning specifically used the word "record" so I'm not certain if the problem you have with the 8mp is related. I would temporarily apply the encryption to test it out for you but I applied it before and it made it so that my laptop wouldn't recognize any of my music that I had on my sd card. Don't want to go through that process again. Sorry. But as I mentioned, recording in 1080 is a no go if storage encrption is being utilized

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  14. km75
    Offline

    km75 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you want to take 8 mp pics leave it un-checked. If you check the box it will automatically change it to 6 mp. I don't understand why that's the case but that just the way it is

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  15. asghar
    Offline

    asghar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    km75, thanks for your comments, that helped a lot.
  16. km75
    Offline

    km75 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problem

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  17. edrock200
    Offline

    edrock200 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It was the encryption setting. Thanks all.
Search tags for this page
android 1080p video camera settings
,
android camcorder settings 1080
,
android encrypted sd video resolution
,

can you shoot 1080p on tape

,
droid 4 how to record video at 1080
,
droid 4 video camera 1080p setting
,
droid bionic can it record in 1080p
,
droid x2 1080p options
,
droid x2, 1080p
,
how do you shoot opians
,
how to make the video wide screen on the droid bionic
,
motorola droid 4 device data encryption 1080p
,
no 1080p setting on droid razr