How do you package for the Market

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by Matth3w, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I want to package up my icons for the Market. Someone said to check the SDK readme but the readme doesn't have any technical information like that, unless I am looking at the wrong readme. The one I have just talks about what the SDK does and doesn't include.

    Is there a good walkthrough somewhere?
  2. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
  3. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Thanks! I'll check it out as soon as I get home.
  4. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
  5. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Wow there is such little information that I can find on google. I've literally come across like ten threads on various forums asking how to do this and all of the threads end with no one knowing how to compile them.
  6. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    anyone know?
  7. sik
    Offline

    sik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Im new to this but ive made my own images from scratch like the dialer and where the buttons go

    [​IMG]

    and after i get them made which im assuming you did? and have the .9 or just png load them all up in eclipse and just export them and it will make you the apk file your referring to. See if this helps Android Development with Eclipse - Tutorial
  8. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I'm following those instructions, hopefully I can figure it out. :)
  9. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Another question is, how do I find exactly what each program is called so I can name the icons to automatically update to those programs?
  10. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Ok, I can't get past here:


    2. Installation

    The following assume that you have already Eclipse install. For installing and using Eclipse please see Eclipse Tutorial
    To use Android you need to install the Eclipse Android Plugin and the base Android SDK. Afterwards you can install different Android versions via the Eclipse Android plugin . You will also need to configure a device which will be used to emulate your real device.
    2.1. Eclipse




    Use the update manager of Eclipse to install all available plugins for the Android Development Tools (ADT) from the URL https://dl-ssl.google.com/android/eclipse/ . See Using the Eclipse update manager for details on how to use the update manager and how to install new plugins.

    Tip

    Ehe Eclipse Android SDK does not seem to have an option to install the Android (Java) source code to make it available in Eclipse. Please join me in starring at bug Make Android Source available in Eclipse - Bug report .

    2.2. Android




    Download the Android SDK from the Android homepage under Android Homepage .
    The download contains a zip file which you can extract to any place in your file system, e.g. I placed it under "c:\android-sdk-windows" .





    ----




    First off, the link for ADT is broken. Second the Android thing doesn't show up in my preferences for Eclipse...so I'm guessing the ADT needs to be installed to show up, but it's not there.
  11. G_Neo
    Offline

    G_Neo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow. I feel your pain. Ive got Eclipse and the SDK on my linux box at home. Im moving this weekend so it may not be till NEXT weekend, but I can probably help you get your images packaged up. PM me and we can talk...
  12. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I got that part installed by doing some other google searching. Now to try it :)
  13. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Gr...now I'm here:

    2.4. Device

    You need to define a device which can be used for emulation. Press the device manager button, press "New" and maintain the following.





    But I don't have a device manager button :(
  14. sik
    Offline

    sik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    alright what you need to do is download the android sdk and install it to you c: drive i did mine under the c:/ after installing the android sdk tools. then goto Android Development with Eclipse - Tutorial

    and at the top of the page under 2.3 paste the directory to whereever you installed the android sdk tools IE ( c:\android-sdk-windows)

    once you do that follow the directions below to download the plugins

    Select now Window -> Android SDK and AVD Manager from the menu.

    [​IMG]

    Select available packages and select the latest version of the SDK.

    [​IMG]

    Press "Install selected" and confirm the license for all package.
    After the installation restart Eclipse.
  15. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    I got that, and I think I got both set up completely, but still not sure how to make an icon pack.
  16. sik
    Offline

    sik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    sorry matt didnt realize you were past that...you are done you have eclipse setup for what you need to do since you not going to develop a program you can stop there..

    Now to get your apk you want open Eclipse goto file>new> project

    like they started here

    Hello, World | Android Developers

    then stop after you type in the create activity.

    Tip application name , package name and activity can be named whatever you want just make sure for package name it starts out com. then whatever you want IE: com.matthew.icons and for the build just select the version your icons are for 2.0.1 or 2.1 or like 2.0
    [​IMG]
  17. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    If I put 2.1 will it not show up for people with 2.0.1 installed?
  18. sik
    Offline

    sik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Once you fill that out click finish then you will have like your drawable-hdpi folders and res folders im not at home right now so cant tell ya for sure but you drag your icons in the drawable folder or maybe its res and once you get them all in there you right click on your project name at the top and goto export android and it will export your apk
  19. sik
    Offline

    sik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Im not sure i havent tryed it with the images i make i put all through eclipse like that and get my .apk then i change that to .zip and extract my images and then make my own folders like the res>contacts>drawable-hdpi or whatever it may be for where that file goes then i can use them with Metamorph and just load them that way..sorry im not being specific im at work so i cant see everything.
  20. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    That's ok, I can wait until you get home.