How do you Build A ROM for the D2 ????

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by trook, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do they have some sort of ROM Kitchen for our phones? Where do you start to learn the art of Rom building? What programs are needed?, I've been to xda, android developers, motodev, and there are instructions and kitchens availible for all devices except the D2. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Azurikai

    Azurikai Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'd like more help with this too because i know java coding and there is obviously a lack of ROMS out there for this phone and i feel like all the developers for the D2 keep secrets with their roms so it almost seems closed source.
     
  3. pkbest

    pkbest Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hear you on that one. It's not a huge secret. If you can build from source, honestly you can do this. By what research I have gathered. Take the source from the google repositories, build everything from the tar files etc, and then package the appropriate apk's needed, plus any additional stuff you want to add. Test it, and then if it works great, if you brick your phone... hope you have sdk lol.

    that's what i've gathered. yes, it does seem a bit closed source for a open source OS; however, i think it will change. Patience is a virtue. dancedroid
     
  4. Azurikai

    Azurikai Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah but I've heard that the D2 has trouble with the AOSP google code.. So I was thinking that our developers for the D2 could put together a beginners platform that we could build off of.. Matt promised he'd release the 3.0 source when it was complete.. so hopefully he'll wrap that up soon.
     
  5. ljbaumer

    ljbaumer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Unicorn Land
    Ratings:
    +0
    can't you just start the rom of of a stock droid 2 rom instead of stock android and then just edit it from there and then sign it?
     
  6. mikeyinid

    mikeyinid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is what ive been doing. Ive been messing with some DX roms, got the physical keyboard and swype working on them. The ONLY things that dont work is camera and video playback. I dont see why more DX roms havent been ported over. Granted, they are based off blur too, but what ive seen so far the DX roms are leaps and bounds ahead of the available D2 roms.
     
  7. Azurikai

    Azurikai Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    is there any form of SBF if you screw up your device in this fashion?
     
  8. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Just came out a few days ago! Its around here somewhere...



    DroidForums junkie!
     
  9. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    Ooh man I wanted to build a rom also but don't know where to start

    Sent from my DROID2
     
  10. mikeyinid

    mikeyinid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea, a standard sbf, i.e. rsdlite. I personally flashed 3 different DX roms with no problems. And actually, id say they are at least 90% functional without doing anything to them. The physical keyboard works, til you use alt. or alt. lock, but I figured out the fix for that, which comes from a bone stock D2 rom. The camera and video playback are the only things i cant figure out. Im not that smart :icon_ banana: and i figured out the keyboard issue, so i know the DX devs can without a doubt port most if not if not all roms to the D2
     
  11. Azurikai

    Azurikai Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    could you help locate :D
     
  12. SanJuan

    SanJuan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure stagefright isn't enabled, it might all work!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App