How do you add an apostrophe (') in text??

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by Classy0ne, May 16, 2012.

  1. Classy0ne

    Classy0ne New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    This should be so simple, it's driving me bonkers that I can't figure it out or find an answer from Google or the Droid Razr User's Guide.

    I am using Swype for texting. When it recognizes a word, it puts an apostrophe where it belongs. When it doesn't, how do you add an apostrophe?

    Case in point, I am trying to type/Swype - Jaxon's toys - (Jaxon is my dog). The apostrophe shows in symbols above the period. No matter what I try, I only get the period, not the apostrophe.

    Thank you in advance for your help!
     
    #1 Classy0ne, May 16, 2012
    Last edited: May 17, 2012
  2. desertknit

    desertknit New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Joshua Tree, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    On my swype keyboard, when I press the 'up' arrow (the large grey key on the left of 'z'), then the period becomes apostrophe...

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  3. Beth850

    Beth850 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Swipe down to the apostrophe key to put it where you need it. Works every time , the key is above the period on the right side of the space key.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,807
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,289
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Nice! I've wondered about that one but didn't take the time to post. Thanks for the solution!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2 using Google voice to text translation. Please excuse any minor spelling, punctuation, capitalization or grammatical errors.
     
  5. Classy0ne

    Classy0ne New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Swype won't recognize the word "Jaxon's" or even "Jaxon", so I have to press each key manually and still can't get the apostrophe. If I try to Swype 'Jaxon' it comes out Jacinda, no matter how slowly and accurately I connect the letters. Try it yourself in a text and maybe you'll see what I mean?

    There has got to be an easy solution. I could just ignore the incorrect punctuation but I really want to know how to make it work.

    :blink:
     
  6. robert70

    robert70 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    How about entering the word jaxon's in your user dictionary.
     
  7. Trash Can

    Trash Can Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Ratings:
    +25
    You beat me to it.

    OP, Swype probably doesn't recognize "Jaxon's", so this is why you are getting frustrated. From the Swype keyboard, type "Jaxon's" manually, then the space key. You should see a prompt to add it before typing/Swyping the next word. Add it. From this point on, Swype should recognize it.
     
  8. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,807
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,289
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Jaxon. Hmmm... Worked for me?!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2 using Google voice to text translation. Please excuse any minor spelling, punctuation, capitalization or grammatical errors.
     
  9. Classy0ne

    Classy0ne New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't add words that Swype doesn't recognize that need an apostrophe ...

    I CAN type/text Jaxon or Jaxons but not with an apostrophe - Jaxon's - [or any other word that needs an apostrophe that Swype doesn't recognize) which is why I am asking for help.

    Not sure where I add Jaxon's to my dictionary. If that is within text itself, that won't work since I can't type an apostrophe.

    I am sitting here shaking my head and laughing. This seems so simple it's ridiculous. I won't give up until I find out how to make it work!

    P.S. I did find out that I can add an apostrophe while in symbols if I tap to change 1/2 to 2/2, but it comes out if it's underlined like so: ' and that's not what I want.
     
  10. Classy0ne

    Classy0ne New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried to add "Jaxon" to my personal dictionary (in text), hoping that if I added it and then tried to type Jaxon's, it would add the apostrophe. I got the message "That word is already in Swype". So I went back to try and type "Jaxon's" and it auto-corrects it to "Jacobs" or "Headcounts" (!?!) no matter how careful and accurate I am Swyping the word. My BF says I should change my dog's name. :blink:
     
  11. Classy0ne

    Classy0ne New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    yup

    I also tried another suggestion - Swyping the apostrophe. I know exactly where the apostrophe is, above the period. I tried Swyping it, but Swype leaves out the apostrophe and changes the word to "Jacob".
     
  12. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,871
    Likes Received:
    609
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +678
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Type the name in letter by letter by just touching them instead of Swyping, then this will appear....

    View attachment 50184 View attachment 50185

    Press the word Jaxon's on the far left and it will ask you to add it to the dictionary. The one you probably went to was the phone one, there is a separate dictionary within Swype that it uses. Then on you should be good to go, additionally if you don't want to do these steps you can go into your Swype settings and add it through the dictionary there.
     
Search tags for this page
add words to note 3 dictionary
,
android no apostrophe
,
apostrophe on android keyboard
,
apostrophe swype
,
how do i get my phone to add aposreophes?
,
how do i put an apostrophe on my phone in texting
,

how to text an apostrophe

,
nexus 7 apostrophy
,
texting apostrophe
,
where is apostrophe on nexus 7