How do I trade phones?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by danny95, Oct 28, 2012.

  1. danny95

    danny95 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My friend and I want to trade phones (his galaxy nexus for my MAXX). How do we do it? Can we just pop out our SIM cards and out them into each other's phone?
     
  2. Caren4u2

    Caren4u2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Each of you will need to contact Verizon and do what is called "ESN Switch" Basically you are calling in the ESN# (a.k.a. serial number) off of the phone you ate switching to. The verizon cust Svc rep will coach you on what to do with the dim card. My thoughts are you would need to switch that as well.
     
  3. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Easiest way is to go into a Verizon corporate store and have'em swap ESNs and SIM cards.
     
  4. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Actually simply swapping SIM cards should work without any intervention by Verizon or a technician, assuming both phones take the MicroSIM cards. This was by design, so that you can move from phone to phone by simply taking your SIM card with you.
     
  5. Quick

    Quick Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +1
    The SIM is for 4G and ESN for 3G or less? Or does the SIM card pick up the ESN from the phone and everything identity wise between the phone and network (regardless of what G you're using) goes through the SIM card? I used to have this down with VZW, ESN and CDMA vs SIM and GSM. But then they got 4G and SIM cards and I didn't keep up...
     
  6. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    If both phones are 4G (meaning both have SIM cards on Verizon), it will make the swap completely for all communication protocols (4G LTE, 3G, 1X, EDVO).

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. Quick

    Quick Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's neat. No activation/switch charges?
    While back you used to be able to activate phones on the website for free -- like switching to your backup phone. Or they would do it for you over the phone and sometimes charge for it.
    Can you get into the SIM to do things like set it up for dual line? or is the SIM inaccessible from the user end.
     
  8. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    No charge and can be changed anytime at will and repeatedly. You can not re-program a single line SIM to work with two lines or with dual NAM, that can only be done by Verizon.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  9. danny95

    danny95 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome! So I don't need to call Verizon or drive down to my local store or anything?
     
  10. jackiescivic

    jackiescivic Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,676
    Likes Received:
    870
    Trophy Points:
    1,328
    Location:
    Germantown, WI
    Ratings:
    +951
    No, just switch the sim cards and you'll be just fine. It's what I do between my Maxx and S3
     
Search tags for this page

does trading sim cards trade phones

,

sim card switch to.trade phones

,

want to trade phones can we just swap sim cards?