How do I run scripts????

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jrl9851, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I installed bb 0.9 and I want to run some of those scripts, but I have no idea how. And no one is helping me in that thread. Help??
  2. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Run them from adb or from a terminal emulator.
  3. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I understand that, but what exactly are the steps from start to finish?
  4. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Er...open terminal, type the script name? You might need to type su first?

    Kind of the same with adb except you are in adb shell.
  5. ViciousCircle
    Offline

    ViciousCircle Android Addict Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't forget, you'll also have to run the 'enablescripts' script once before you can run any of the other scripts.
  6. TekHawk
    Offline

    TekHawk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Yuba ****ty, California
    and you might need to run

    chmod 755 /system/xbin/enablescripts
  7. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just keep getting permission denied.
  8. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Those scripts should work fine with root permissions.

    enablescripts merely gives wide open permission on all the scripts.
  9. bitter
    Offline

    bitter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was actually about to make a thread about this. I noticed that new "god mode" script. Basically, I just want to rename some apk's so they don't show up in my tray. Root Explorer FC's everytime I try and open it now.
  10. microsnook
    Offline

    microsnook New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For noobs, me included, i'td be nice to have the instructions step by step (every detail included)

    Including both the terminal emulator and adb, so we have some options.

    Thanks
  11. TekHawk
    Offline

    TekHawk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Yuba ****ty, California
    run this then

    su
    chmod 755 /system/xbin/enablescripts
    enablescripts
  12. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [​IMG]
  13. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, in short, you mounted the filesystem as read-write, then remounted it as read-only, then got an error when you tried to chmod the script that the filesystem is read only.

    Do you see the problem?
  14. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    No I do not. I know NOTHING about this. I was copying what someone over on alldroid posted.

    If you can please tell me exactly what to write, it would be greatly appreciated.
  15. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Code:
    adb shell
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    chmod 777 /system/xbin/enablescripts
    enablescripts
    sync
    
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2010
  16. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    You are close. You want to make it so the area you are working on is writable. then you want to make the change to the file (do the writing) then you want to make it read only. You made it writeable, made it not writable, then tried to change it.

    You make it writeable when you you mount the system as "rw" and then when you "ro" it it is read only. After you invoke super user "su" the next to lines are the same except for the ro and rw part. chomod between the two.

    For those who don't know these are linux commands. You can look these commands up on google (su linux, mount linux, etc) to learn more about what you are doing. There are commands that will very quickly erase your entire file system. I would want to know what I am doing and why if I was doing this. If you don't know then just ask.

    edit: You could make your own scripts or look at the existing scripts in an editor to see what others put in the scripts you are using too.
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2010
  17. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So after some more reading it looks like this is how it should go:

    adb shell
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    chmod 755 /system/xbin/enablescripts
    enablescripts
    (next few lines for scripts I want)
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    sync
    reboot



    Look good?
  18. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Now I have not used BB so I am assuming this method will work the same as it did running scripts on Ultimate Droid.

    So on your Droid open Terminal Emulator.. what ever one you use.

    *REMEMBER TO ALWAYS PRESS ENTER AFTER EACH COMMAND!

    Type:
    su
    (for first time uses) type enablescripts (press enter)
    mountsys
    type your scripts ie... rmcorpcal (removes the corporate calander)
    snyc
    unmountsys
    reboot

    Availble Scripts
    -enablescripts (must use [only once] before scripts will work)
    -barebones (removes CorpCal, Email, Dock, Car Home, News & Weather, LWPs, & QuickOffice)
    -blockads (blocks adds in apps & browser)
    -cpuinfo (shows cpu info)
    -droidboot (installs my custom boot animation *decreases boot time*)
    -fixbusybox (will fix issues with busybox)
    -free50mb (adjust native system task manager to keep 50mb of RAM free)
    -free75mb (adjust native system task manager to keep 75mb of RAM free)
    -free100mb (adjust native system task manager to keep 100mb of RAM free)
    -godmode (allows viewing and editing of all files on phone using any file viewer)
    -mountsys (mounts system as rw)
    -unmountsys (mounts system as ro)
    -movecache (moves Street View, Browser, & Market cache to sdcard)
    -rmcarhome (removes Car Home App)
    -rmcorpcal (removes Corporate Callendar App)
    -rmdock (removes Multimedia Station)
    -rmemail (removes Email App)
    -rmgenie (removes News & Weather App)
    -rmlwps (removes live wallpapers *Still allows use of market lwps*)
    -rmmms (removes Messaging App)
    -rmquickoffice (removes Quick Office App)
    -showads (allows ads to show in aps & browser)
    -soundoff (disables camera shutter sound & video recording sound)
    -soundon (enables camera shutter sound & video recording sound)
    -switchboot (installs boot animations for you)
    -switchclocks (switches 2.1 clock with 2.0 clock)
    -switchlwp (switches the color of the livewallpapers)
    -switchmusic (switches 2.1 Music App with Milestone Music App)


    If this is not right then please correct me.. but this is how I ran scripts on Ultimate Droid using terminal emulator.

    Hope this helps
  19. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Yes, this will work. In the post above it looks like there is a sysmount script that does your "rw" mount command and an unsysmount script that does the "mount -o,ro..." command. That definitely saves on typing if you have that script too.
  20. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Tried this way to and I still keep getting permission denied. Looks like I might go with ultimate droid and see if that one works.

    [​IMG]
Search tags for this page

android run script

,
android run scripts
,
execute script android
,
how to run a script on android
,

how to run script android

,
how to run script in android
,
how to run script on android
,
how to run scripts android
,
how to run scripts in android
,

how to run scripts on android

,

run script android

,

run script on android

,
run scripts android
,
run scripts on android
,

running scripts on android