How do I run scripts????

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by jrl9851, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed bb 0.9 and I want to run some of those scripts, but I have no idea how. And no one is helping me in that thread. Help??
     
  2. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Run them from adb or from a terminal emulator.
     
  3. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I understand that, but what exactly are the steps from start to finish?
     
  4. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Er...open terminal, type the script name? You might need to type su first?

    Kind of the same with adb except you are in adb shell.
     
  5. ViciousCircle
    Offline

    ViciousCircle Android Addict Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't forget, you'll also have to run the 'enablescripts' script once before you can run any of the other scripts.
     
  6. TekHawk
    Offline

    TekHawk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yuba ****ty, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    and you might need to run

    chmod 755 /system/xbin/enablescripts
     
  7. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just keep getting permission denied.
     
  8. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Those scripts should work fine with root permissions.

    enablescripts merely gives wide open permission on all the scripts.
     
  9. bitter
    Offline

    bitter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was actually about to make a thread about this. I noticed that new "god mode" script. Basically, I just want to rename some apk's so they don't show up in my tray. Root Explorer FC's everytime I try and open it now.
     
  10. microsnook
    Offline

    microsnook Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    For noobs, me included, i'td be nice to have the instructions step by step (every detail included)

    Including both the terminal emulator and adb, so we have some options.

    Thanks
     
  11. TekHawk
    Offline

    TekHawk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yuba ****ty, California
    Ratings:
    +0
    run this then

    su
    chmod 755 /system/xbin/enablescripts
    enablescripts
     
  12. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    [​IMG]
     
  13. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    So, in short, you mounted the filesystem as read-write, then remounted it as read-only, then got an error when you tried to chmod the script that the filesystem is read only.

    Do you see the problem?
     
  14. jrl9851
    Offline

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    No I do not. I know NOTHING about this. I was copying what someone over on alldroid posted.

    If you can please tell me exactly what to write, it would be greatly appreciated.
     
  15. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Code:
    adb shell
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    chmod 777 /system/xbin/enablescripts
    enablescripts
    sync
    
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2010
Search tags for this page

android run script

,
how to run a script on android
,
how to run script android
,
how to run script in android
,
how to run script on android
,
how to run scripts in android
,

how to run scripts on android

,

run script android

,
run script on android
,
running scripts on android