How do I put my space bar back to normal?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Goblynn93, Nov 20, 2010.

  1. Goblynn93
    Offline

    Goblynn93 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I really don't like the split space bar/tab key that they've added to FRG22D. Its very annoying. I understand the purpose but the implementation and design are horrible. I want my old full space bar back!!

    I have attached pics because no one seems to know what I am talking about...

    The pic with the split space bar / tab key... that is NEW to my phone and WOW I have never HATED a phone more than I do mine right now because of this space bar / tab key change.

    This pops up if I try to do a Google Search, attempting to modify my first search, this silly TAB pops up and flys me all over the freaking web page! Give me back my full space bar!

    Trying to fill in username/password this TAB key pops up and takes over half my space bar... and I hit it by accident every single time and it takes me a few minutes to get back to where I need to be.

    GIVE ME BACK MY FULL SPACE BAR!
    Droid 1, FRG22D
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I know how annoying that is, but IIRC it only pops up when you have some thng like a form you're filling out and it shouldn't be there when you are doing a regular post.
  3. Goblynn93
    Offline

    Goblynn93 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What the heck is IIRC?

    It pops up at random times... for instance, if I do a google search from the default mobile home page it doesn't pop up.

    Then, when I try to modify that search, or enter a new search that TAB pops up and I don't know it... and I hit it, and it sends me WAYYYYYYY to the bottom of the screen to the -other- entry area... and when I try and scroll back up it won't! It keeps forcing me back down to where the cursor is like I don't know where I want to be.

    I am going to throw this phone in the freeway and happily watch it get run over the next time it happens.

    How can I make it go away? Its not helpful, and its a horrible -change- from what I've been used to for YEARS...

    Wow its annoying. Make it go away.


  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    If I Recall Correctly. Yes, it pops up when you text or if you're filling out a password, those type of things. But when you get to the area where you are actually doing your messaging or typing, it goes back to the full space bar.
  5. Dusty
    Offline

    Dusty Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    DC/NoVA
    feel his pain.

    I love my Droid X But...

    I'm.tired.of.sending.text.messages.that.look.like.this.
  6. Goblynn93
    Offline

    Goblynn93 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know how it works... I just want it to go away. This is a massive change and teaching my thumbs this "new" trick is NOT going to work. I am 36 years into having the space bar under my thumbs at all times and seemingly random tab keys placed there is just wrong.

    How do I make it go away?

    Do I have to root? Change software? Get a new keyboad? Trash the phone?
    I don't need to know how it works... I get that already. Its annoying the crap out of me with how it works.

    So... Root? New phone? Old Android? Table Saw and cut the phone in half???



  7. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    You see that little microphone there? Try tapping it and talking your message. Done that and didn't like it? Give Vlingo a try.
  8. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio

    Well, it's definitely something you need from a custom ROM. I don't know which, if any, has it.
  9. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Buy a new keyboard program in the market.
    Keyboard pro, swiftkey, etc.

    And try not to double post.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  10. Goblynn93
    Offline

    Goblynn93 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Voice recognition is horrible. It never gets my words right no matter what I do. And it can't do waste waiste, their, there, they're... its terrible. So no, I don't use the voice system if I can avoid it. I spend too much time going back with the keyboard and correcting the voice translation mistakes.

    I have looked at alternate keyboards and they all have poor reviews. And the one that I tried "Better Keyboard" totally trashed my phone and I had to factory reset to get it working again.

    Is there an older Android version I can hack to that will get rid of this "upgrade" to the keyboard? Previous versions didnt have this poor design, cant I go back to one of those?

    And my double post was me trying to cancel the first one since i found out you can add pics to this forum. Most don't allow that. apologies.


    Last edited: Nov 20, 2010
  11. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Technically you could root and install an older version of android but it would be silly?

    Also you would constantly get an upgrade notification which would further drain your battery.

    I don't think there's much to offer you considering you seem to be hell bent on not liking the phone anymore.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  12. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    When are you up for your renewal? Droid 2 doesn't have this issue.
  13. Goblynn93
    Offline

    Goblynn93 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why would they do this to Droid 1 and not Droid 2?

    I am not hellbent on hating the phone. I love this phone. I don't want an iPhone, I am not a MAC/Apple fan. I dislike apple with a passion and their proprietary crap and constant refusal to fess up when they've made a mistake. I don't want to go back to BlackBerry... and everything else out there non-Android seems like a waste... Nokia is dying, Palm is dead... anyone that has their own OS outside of iOS and Android is dying... quickly... so I don't want another non-android phone.

    What I am against is not having a choice. I used this phone very successfully since the day it released and this new change is driving me nuts.

    Its not a -small- change either. For any human growing up using a keyboard daily its a horrible thing. My thumbs are trained practically at birth to be space bar and that's it! I don't use my thumbs while typing for anything else. Tab key? Under a thumb?

    That's as silly as downgrading Android to get rid of it!!

    Last edited: Nov 20, 2010
  14. hogowner
    Offline

    hogowner New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    try in the app market...

    thick buttons
  15. Goblynn93
    Offline

    Goblynn93 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ThickButtons is horrible... three thumbs down... Thanks for the suggestion though.

    And the other suggestions up higher in replies...

    So far I have not found a single keyboard replacement that works any where near as well as the stock...

    and if I could just get rid of that dang Tab key the stock would be perfect!

    It used to be perfect!

    If I root can I change just the installed keyboard? Maybe get the keyboard from an older Android and put it into the current one?

    Last edited: Nov 20, 2010
  16. harrellj
    Offline

    harrellj New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One option, http://www.gimpsta.com/themer/ allows you to theme the HTC_IME keyboard, and the theme can make it match stock (or fairly close). You won't need to be rooted to use this, just need to have the "install from non-market sources" be not checked.

    After it's install, just go to settings > keyboard and make sure it's checked (and you can change any of its settings at that point, related to auto-correct and the like) and then long-press on a input area (I usually just hit the search key on the phone) and choose input method > htc_ime keyboard.
  17. Goblynn93
    Offline

    Goblynn93 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Found my solution!

    Swype Beta is amazing and has made me love my touch screen again!
Search tags for this page

android search bar not putting spaces in

,
android text is changing my entry when i hit the space bar.
,
everytime i hit space it sends me to bottom of page
,

get rid of language on space bar android

,
get the space bar back
,
how do i get space back on the space bar and delatecan you s
,

how to get space bar up again

,

how to get your space bar back

,

how to make your space bar work

,
how tp get the space bar back to the bottom
,
howdoiputmyspacebuttonbackin
,

keyboard putting in 3 spaces when hitting space bar

,

space bar

,

spacebar

,
why when i hit the space bar does my screen jump