How do I install a Custom ROM with ROM Manager?

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by Someone22, Jun 11, 2011.

  1. Someone22

    Someone22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, How do I install a Custom ROM via ROM Manager?
    I have downloaded the selected ROM, and ROM Manager rebooted the phone into Recovery Mode.

    What should I select?

    1. apply sdcard:update.zip
    2. wipe data/factory reset
    3. wipe cache partition
     
  2. b-jammin21

    b-jammin21 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    All of the above.
     
  3. Someone22

    Someone22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, in which order?
     
  4. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    Do it 3,2,1.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  5. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    I haven't used rom manager in awhile, but if you're installing through rom manager why did it take you to recovery? It used to do it all for you and you didn't have to touch recovery mode.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  6. metalspring

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    Rom manager isn't very reliable at all, I could almost never get it to install automatically, in fact clockworkmod recovery isn't as reliable as other recoveries...my suggestion- use rzrecovery and do everything manually with a CWM recovery .img ready to flash just in case...can actually be installed via any recovery lol and you can find all of them either on the forums or a Google search

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  7. Bang Pow Boom

    Bang Pow Boom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    +1

    I had lots of problems with CWM. I've been using RZ and haven't had any problems

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  8. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    That's exactly why I haven't used RM in awhile. Its good if you're just learning but, I would say just do some research, ask some questions, and switch to RZRecovery. I use it and haven't looked back since!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  9. -iD

    -iD Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Forget all of rom mgrs functions except for easy prenaming of a Nandroid backup and easy "flash then reboot" loading of kernels, zips, morphs and such. If you still use cwm and like it then rm is great and convienent for flashing FROM THE OS.

    For flashing a new rom or restoring or anything requiring wiping or preparing, boot into cwm recovery and do it yourself.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  10. Someone22

    Someone22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I´ve downloaded an RZRecovery 'update.zip' file.
    Can I apply it in ClockWorkMod Recovery?
     
  11. Card

    Card Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NorCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure you do a Nandroid backup first!
     
  12. jchammer123

    jchammer123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes you can, definitely make a backup first just in case. You shouldn't have any issues though.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
how do i install a rom with rom manager
,

how to increase rom with rom manager

,
how to install a rom from rom manager
,
how to install custom roms on galaxy s3 using rom manager
,
how to install rom from rom manager
,
how to install rom with rom manager
,
how to manually install a rom thru rom manager
,
uaing rom manager