How do I go root to rom w/ stock 2.1?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by gurnzb, Apr 13, 2010.

  1. gurnzb

    gurnzb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to hacking and all I have seen about rooting and nandroid back ups and installing new roms is for 2.0.1. The 2.1 has been out for a couple of weeks and I'm sure it might just need time to develop, but is there anything that shows how to root a 2.1 and teaches from the beginning how to rom? I have the complete understanding of how to do it had my system not updated to 2.1, however I dont see anything for 2.1 and I don't want to brick my phone.

    Even a simple re-direct to the proper post would be great. Thank you.
     
  2. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,841
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +61
  3. Sam

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    there isn't an exploit to 2.1 yet and there likely won't be. none of the devs (to my knowledge) are working on gaining root for 2.1 because it is possible to go back to 2.0.1 and gain root from there (and get all the 2.1 goodies with current ROMS)..
     
  4. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    This may be a dumb question but at what point would it become necessary for them to think about trying to root 2.1. For us Mac users it can be a real PITA to try to flash sbf's. A rooted 2.1 would be a thing of beauty. I am actually going to try to install windows xp on my mac tomorrow through boot camp so if that works for me I guess it won't matter.
     
  5. VolDroid

    VolDroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    It should work just fine. My boss got a Mac without asking me first and found out that Autocad (which is our main program for computer drafting) won't run on a Mac. So he had to use boot camp and Windows XP. He now has a very expensive Windows computer with a pretty apple on it :)
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    The problem is getting a windows program to recognize the device. I can't get Windows to recognize my Droid on my Mac BUT since boot camp partitions and has to be used separately from Mac it may very well work. Good luck.

    Oh, I should mention I run VMware. That's why Windows can't see my Droid.
     
  7. gurnzb

    gurnzb New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    if i get this right... sprecovery is the way to get back to 2.0.1 to get the unrooting and everything done? i haven't read through the link because i have a paper due at midnight :O