1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

How do I go from 2.01 to LGB 0.5??

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by nycorduroy, May 6, 2011.

  1. nycorduroy
    Offline

    nycorduroy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    I have been reading all the threads but am still confused on the proper path.
    I am currently on Liberty 2.01 and wish to get to Liberty gingerbread 0.5.
    Can someone give clear step by step instructions for my situation??
    Any info. would be much appreciated.
    Thanks
    Corduroy
  2. mcp770
    Offline

    mcp770 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville
    JRummy posted full instructions HERE on the Liberty GB v.5 thread toward the bottom above his signature. I would highly recommend method one and buy the donate toolbox with the rom manager. If you do that than you can update very easily. Doing so via free method has a few more steps but can be done fairly easily too.

    My upgrade path: (have droid2bootstrap .apk on your sd)

    1. Donated for the toolbox and downloaded Libery GB v.1 FULL via rom manager to my sd. Also downloaded GB v.5 (the one WITH the kernel update included) to sd.
    2. Rebooted into clockwork and wiped data/cache/dalvik cache twice each
    3. Chose install zip from SD and navigated to the Liberty download folder and ran the GB v.1 Zip
    4. Let phone boot. First boot on GB takes a while and appears to bootloop. GIVE IT TIME.
    5. I skipped login and went to files and installed the d2 bootstrapper and then booted into clockwork right away. ( saves time having to login and re-download toolbox right now)
    6. Wipe data/cache/dalvik cache again
    7. Install from sd and choose the liberty gb v.5 update.

    Another long reboot and you are set...login and enjoy.
    Last edited: May 6, 2011
  3. nycorduroy
    Offline

    nycorduroy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Thanks for the reply. That is what I thought but in Jrummy's initial post he states:
    =============================

    Install Instructions:
    =============================

    Note:

    Liberty v0.4 is based on the 4.5.588 leak. You should be on this
    before installing the ROM. If you choose to go back to a froyo
    build you must sbf!

    So I guess my question should have been do I need to be on the 4.5.588 leak?? Or can I just buy the donate toolbox while on 2.01 and install from there??
    Thanks again,
    Corduroy
  4. mcp770
    Offline

    mcp770 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville
    Sorry, updated my post when you answered. You do have to be on .588 but Jrummy has a one zip update on the rom manager in the donate toolbox called v0.1 that does this and is the base for the other updates to include v0.5. I would highly recommend this method as you can really upgrade easily and download all the files you need to sd. Or you could get the TBH files on mydroidworld and update to deodexed rooted .588 then download the Liberty files and go that route. I prefered having all jrummy's files personally. They just seemed better organized via one zip methods.
  5. rystan11
    Offline

    rystan11 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Knoxville
    I have 2.01 then sbf'd to stock and flashed a patch that got me to .153 gb - how do I get to .588?
  6. mcp770
    Offline

    mcp770 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville
    In the donate toolbox rom manager there is another version of v0.1 that is for people already on gingerbread. Click install and yes to data wipe...done.
  7. Ajmazin
    Offline

    Ajmazin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm im coming from lgb.4 and was wondering if i really have to wipe data before going to .5 with the kernel?
  8. mcp770
    Offline

    mcp770 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville
    Well, there are plenty on these forums that would say no...don't wipe works fine. Then a day later start complaints about rom issues. Unrelated maybe...but who knows. I personally choose to wipe before any upgrade and restore apps via market then restore app data only via titanium. This ensures newest apps and no system corruption from version to version. Doing this has given me zero rom issues ever other than those that truly existed in the roms themselves. Always wipe IMO. After a few times refining your methods restoring this way is minimally longer process than not wiping.
  9. Trav06
    Offline

    Trav06 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Going from Stock to Liberty .5

    Can someone point me to a good guide for getting from the latest Droid X 2.2 stock to Liberty .5, starting with the SBF ?

    I'm not new to rooting/roms (I've had a rooted OG Droid for over a year), but I am new to Droid X rooting/roms.

    Thanks!
  10. beckerfj
    Offline

    beckerfj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California-Bay Area
    I agree fully about wiping...I read a ton of information in my preparation of flashing Gingerbread and am surprised about how much variation people had with success on it, but I find it generally appears that when people explain what they did it seems like they didn't follow instructions exactly.

    Now, maybe wiping is/isn't part of the path from v0.4 to v0.5 but it should never hurt.

    I also always see flashing a ROM to be a "starting from ground zero" thing that I know will take some time to re-install apps and such because I'm starting from a clean slate.

    I went from Liberty v1.5 to Gingerbread v0.1 to v0.5 with ZERO problems and am loving it!
  11. BoJatey
    Offline

    BoJatey New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are asking the same question as the OP. Buy the donated version of Liberty toolbox from the market. Go to Rom Manager/Nightlies and download the LibGB 0.1 full install for froyo and also the 0.5 update with updated kernel. Backup your apps with TiBU. Boot into recovery with D2 Bootstrap and make a Nandroid backup. Then do a data wipe followed by a cache wipe. Last, install the 0.1 zip and reboot. If everything checks out, download D2 bootstrap and boot into recovery again. Wipe data/cache and install 0.5 with updated kernel. When you boot into 0.5 and everything looks Liberated, restore your apps and your all set. Good luck.


    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
    Last edited: May 6, 2011
  12. Trav06
    Offline

    Trav06 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks and sorry for the repeat question. I'd read in several places that you need to SBF first and I'm not familiar with that process. Is that first step you mention the SBF part of the process?

    EDIT: I see a Droid X Bootstrap and a Droid 2 Bootstrap on the market. But you're suggesting I use the D2 bootstrap?
    Last edited: May 6, 2011
  13. BoJatey
    Offline

    BoJatey New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No need to sbf if you're running 2. 2 froyo.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  14. BoJatey
    Offline

    BoJatey New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use d2.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  15. beckerfj
    Offline

    beckerfj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California-Bay Area
    No, BoJatey is not referring to SBF'ing. You should only need to do that in 2 situations: 1) if you are on Gingerbread, but want to go back to Froyo (you can't restore your Froyo Nandroid backup once you are on Gingerbread) or 2) the install process gets severely screwed up (somehow) where you can't get back into Bootstrap.

    Since you are on stock Froyo, you will need to:

    1. Root.
    2. Download Liberty Toolbox Donate (easiest way to get to v0.5).
    3. Download Droid 2 Bootstrap (personally, I already had the Droid X Bootstrap and I'm not sure if you could use Droid 2 Bootstrap with Froyo but maybe start here). The reason BoJatey mentioned Droid 2 Bootstrap is because once you get to Gingerbread, the Droid X Bootstrap no longer works.
    4. Download Liberty Gingerbread v0.1 Full Install (the one noted for Froyo users).
    5. Download Liberty Gingerbread v0.5 WITH kernal
    6. Reboot into Bootstrap.
    7. Make Nandroid backup.
    8. Wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache, wipe Dalvik (under advanced)
    9. Flash v0.1

    This is where some people do it a little differently, but both should work. BoJatey refers to booting into v0.1, but I did the following. Again, either method should work.

    10. Make Nandroid backup (which is now Gingerbread v0.1)
    11. Wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache, wipe Dalvik
    12. Flash v0.5
    13. Reboot.

    Enjoy Gingerbread! How this works out for you.
  16. barski
    Offline

    barski New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    okay, im on gingerbread .05 now, but when i first booted it said something about customize and it needed to be download. so it started download and the phone went to sleep, i then hit the power button and the phone froze so i removed the battery and rebooted.

    Now how can i get that customize thing back to redownload or use?

    Thanks
  17. Trav06
    Offline

    Trav06 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for taking the time to write that out! Any idea if z4root still works, or will I have to use another method?

    So the way you did it you stayed in recovery rather than booting into .1, going to recovery, and then flashing .5?
    Last edited: May 6, 2011
  18. beckerfj
    Offline

    beckerfj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California-Bay Area
    Left hard button (looks like 4 squares with one being solid), more, settings, Liberty Settings, and it's the very top item.

    You might/might not have the "more" listed above, I'm using ADW...You just need to get to settings and then choose Liberty settings.
  19. BoJatey
    Offline

    BoJatey New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, assumed you were rooted but Z4 will work and if you want to flash both at once, go for it. Becker laid it out a little better than I did but I think you've got the idea. Good luck.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
    Last edited: May 6, 2011
  20. beckerfj
    Offline

    beckerfj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California-Bay Area
    As BoJatey noted below, Z4 will work since you are on Froyo.

    Correct, I flashed v0.1, made backup, wiped, and flashed v0.5 without rebooting between the two. I believe others have rebooted between the two without problems. I just tried to save a step. I did make a backup after flashing v0.1 in case it didn't work.

    I guess one last thing that I just thought of...check to make sure you are on the .340 version of Froyo (instead of say .320). I don't know if this will be a problem but in the past, the ROMs for Froyo were based off .340.

    Sorry for being so wordy.

    Liberty Gingerbread v0.5
Search tags for this page

lgb bootstrap download