How do I get rid of gmail.

loves2laugh

Reaction score
Hi,
Ok, I'm new at this whole "smartphone" thing. I just got my Driod Incredible two days ago, and I am getting used to it. The gal at the store where I got it started it for me and got my emails up and running. My yahoo account is my main account and she put yahoo and gmail on it, I would like to completely delete gmail and just make yahoo my only email account, how do I delete gmail?

Thanks in advance, I'm sure I will have tons more questions!!!
dancedroid

spaz33g

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
You can't fully remove gmail. Its a Google phone so it must be tethered to a gmail acct. However you could turn off notifications in the gmail app. Out of sight out of mind.

tappin and a talkin

b_salgado

Reaction score
Also remember, that, your contacts are backed up through Google and Gmail. IF something ever happens to your phone and you need to do a factory reset or if it ever gets stolen, all of your contacts are backed up. All you need to do is simply log back into your Gmail account and it will sync everything back to your phone. Why are you trying to get rid of it?

OP
L

loves2laugh

Reaction score
Hi all!! Thanks for the "welcoms" ;)
About gmail, I use yahoo as my primary account I would like to be able to go to gmail when I want but I don't want notices from it all the time. Also, I now have phone numbers in my contacts from old addreses in my gmail account of people I don't even keep in touch with anymore. I just don't like things "cluttering" my phone that I don't use.
Ha, I am going to keep you people busy!! LOL

zero7404

Reaction score
Hi all!! Thanks for the "welcoms" ;)