How do I get my screen to look like this?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Amberite, Feb 13, 2010.

  1. Amberite
    Offline

    Amberite New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    [​IMG]

    At the bottom of the screen, the phone has three buttons: "^", "phone" and "+". I've seen this sort of configuration many times before on other android phones, how do I get this done on my Droid? Is there an app I need to download? Currently I only have a simple up arrow at the bottom of the screen which opens the full application list. Thanks!
     
  2. joeymoose
    Offline

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. mudpro69
    Offline

    mudpro69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Root the phone then add a theme...you can probably find some metamorph theme that will do that...
     
  4. joeymoose
    Offline

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is what it looks like...
     

    Attached Files:

  5. eTiMaGo
    Offline

    eTiMaGo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    the picture you posted is specifically HTC's "SenseUI" custom user interface, which is indeed far more eye-pleasing than the basic Android one, comes with some gorgeous big widgets, and 7 desktops! But, AFAIK it's not yet been ported to the Droid

    The Android 2.1 launcher that joeymoose posted is a pretty good alternative, I am using it myself :)
     
  6. tktouch12
    Offline

    tktouch12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you're rooted there's a metamorph theme called xhero that makes it look similar, but the buttons arent actually functional. they are just one big app drawer launcher
     
  7. 928Droid
    Offline

    928Droid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Western North Carolina Mountains
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats to Matt ( Xeudoxus) over at AllDroid here is the app you need to get a Launcher like that without rooting.

    [​IMG]


    Here is the link for the launcher app..http://www.alldroid.org/download/file.php?id=1600&sid=7141c059f24781c7f2114fe32a79f00c it also has 5 home screens.

    You can get Beautiful Widgets on the Market and get the Sense UI skin here .. http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...ficial-beautiful-widgets-skinning-thread.html

    The combination of these 2 apps will give you that look you want, again no root required.
     
  8. Amberite
    Offline

    Amberite New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Wow, great, thanks for all the help! I'll be downloading that launcher like most of you suggested. Rooting sounds a little too complex for me right now :)
     
  9. joeymoose
    Offline

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rooting isn't for everyone but it has many advantages.... I'm not saying your missing the boat but its a fun ride.
     
  10. pilot25
    Offline

    pilot25 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    So how do you actually get the thing to work. I installed it via Astro but nothing is there. You go back into Astro and hit Launch and it comes back "Activity Not Found."
     
  11. joeymoose
    Offline

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you rename it from .zip to .apk?
     
  12. pilot25
    Offline

    pilot25 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Got it. You just hit the home button. So it's acting as a home replacement and not shockingly it force closed the first time I tried it.

    yawn.....

    /unintstalled
     
  13. joeymoose
    Offline

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problems here.
     
  14. 928Droid
    Offline

    928Droid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    Western North Carolina Mountains
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is a real zip, you need to extract Launcher2.apk before installing.
     
  15. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Do a search on launcher in Astro. Find the file, and install it.