How do I get gingerbread? I used Z4 to root awhile back on my Droid 2...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by xythil, Sep 4, 2011.

  1. xythil
    Offline

    xythil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now I have the unrooted Gingerbread trying to install but I keep declining it as it was sent OTA....

    So what do I do?

    Is there a better root than Z4? I dont seem to have recovery to flash new roms... when I hot X my phone boots up to a trianlge with a ! instead of recovery that let me flash roms

    Also where is the link to rooted gingerbread ?

    And how do i install it once I get it?
  2. mattv111
    Offline

    mattv111 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    I'm kinda confused about what you're asking, but I'm pretty sure you can root the OTA GB using the same method for the D3. Hope that helps you
  3. xythil
    Offline

    xythil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure what hatd to understand...

    I rooted my. Droid 2. Originally with z4

    Now I want gingerbread....

    What do I. Do

    Can I oover the air update. And use z4 again?
  4. NUNsLAUGHTER92
    Offline

    NUNsLAUGHTER92 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Use the 1 click root that's used for the Droid 3. I think it's a temporary root though..

    "The road to hell is paved with good intentions"
  5. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    http://db.tt/EefYBVw

    No its permanent root. Put this on your pc desktop and unzip. Run the one click file in there and follow the directions. Plug in the phone (make sure usb debugging is checked.) It may take a few tries, but it'll work.

    CM7GB-601
  6. idefiler6
    Offline

    idefiler6 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do the OTA update, Z4 is not compatible with D2GB, so you need to use one click root for D3.
  7. mattv111
    Offline

    mattv111 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    sbf then update
  8. xythil
    Offline

    xythil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did gingerbread disable free wireless tether?
  9. mattv111
    Offline

    mattv111 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    I know when I was on the leak I could never get it to work. I haven't tried it with rooted OTA yet though.
  10. xythil
    Offline

    xythil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone else help?
  11. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Sorry I don't use wifi tether, but you can try the latest beta build. It may be updated to work with the ota if yours isn't working. I'll post the link. Make sure you go into wifi tether settings and choose your device as well!

    CM7GB-601
  12. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
  13. seventurns9
    Offline

    seventurns9 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi There. I am looking all over for help and this thread seems to be the closest to what I am asking: I have a Z4 rooted Droid 2 (stock Froyo) with Droid 2 bootstrapper, ClockworkModRecovery and I only installed root explorer and wireless tether... didn't uninstall any stock apps. I got the OTA gingerbread notifications the other day on my Droid 2 but I told it to install later (in fear of ruining my install).
    My question is can I simply unroot using Z4 and then have the OTA update install, or do I have to do something else? I just want to have Gingerbread on my phone working and then able to root it without losing everything else. Thanks, sorry for the long post (i'm new) :)
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2011
  14. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    It should be fine to accept the update. It will install gb, but will unroot your device. That's okay though, because you can use the d3 one click method on your pc to root the ota. I say, go for it.

    CM7GB-601
  15. seventurns9
    Offline

    seventurns9 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for your input ldopa.
    Does having the Droid 2 Bootstrapper cause the update to fail? I thought that any customizations (removing apps or rooting of the stock Froyo) would cause the OTA update to fail, or at best have problems. I see alot of forums saying how everyone is SBF'ng (something I have never done before) to get the GB OTA update on their rooted phones. I just want to be sure
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2011
  16. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    I was under the impression that if you messed with the phone enough, you wouldn't even be able to see the update. What you say may be true. You can unroot to be safe. Truly uninstalling bootstrap is a real pain (its not as easy as just erasing it). Now, I'm the kind of guy that would sbf and then get the update that way to ensure the cleanest update possible. That's what I recommend to you.

    CM7GB-601
  17. logan6
    Offline

    logan6 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same problem yesterday when I tried to update. I had un-rooted my Droid 2 right before I started the download. A few minutes ago when i had to pull the battery because the phone froze (which happens every day or so) it booted into clockwork recovery. I was wondering if there was a way to just delete a few things to be able to install the update possibly without doing an SBF because I am a noob.
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2011
  18. seventurns9
    Offline

    seventurns9 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know I tried getting rid of ClockWorkModRecovery bootstrapper and I was able to, but the Droid 2 bootstrapper is really persistent.
    I have never done an SBF, but I do have alot of backups from ClockWorkModRecovery... I don't want to spend hours and hours on rebuilding my phone (my girlfriend is ready to leave me already :)) So any idea what I can do to get more reponses from folks on this... not that I don't appreciate yours, but maybe someone has already faced exactly what I'm asking?
  19. seventurns9
    Offline

    seventurns9 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did it install the OTA GB update successfully? Did you reroot the phone after the update? It seems that you have to use "Click to root your DROID 3" to reroot a Droid 2 running GB.
  20. logan6
    Offline

    logan6 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The install failed. I haven't rerooted froyo. Would it almost be better to re-root froyo and install a rooted or custom gingerbread as a rom? I'm in a little over my head here, but if I was linked to a post about it with instructions I could probably do it as I've never flashed or installed any roms before.
Search tags for this page

troubleshooting z4root errors

,

z4root instruction