How do I get back to stock(2.01 unrooted)?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by jgmarz, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. jgmarz

    jgmarz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I get back to stock(2.01 unrooted)?
     
  2. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,806
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +240
    Are you using DM Updater? If so, you can go back to stock with that.
     
  3. jgmarz

    jgmarz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using Ultimate Droid v8. I'm having screen issues so VZW is replacing my current phone but I need to return this one. I have to get it back to stock. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  4. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,806
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +240
    go to the Market and install DM Updater if you don't have that. You can easily unroot using that.
     
  5. jgmarz

    jgmarz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Won't come up in market
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
  7. huskur

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    Not available in the market. Have to get it from www.droidmod.org itself.
     
  8. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,806
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +240
  9. jgmarz

    jgmarz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got it from Droidmod.org. Thanks for the help
     
  10. baniels

    baniels Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    52556
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree. Whenever I have gone back to stock I used DM and then did a full wipe from within stock recovery.
     
  11. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I think it's OK so long as he removes the ROM in it if it isn't Droidmod. I don't know how it would work with another ROM in it which is why I gave him the second set of instructions.
     
  12. huskur

    huskur Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lower Delaware
    Ratings:
    +36
    It will tell him that he is already rooted and would not install the update.zip to root. It will then proceed to download the DM 1.0 and use it if selected. If he goes to the dmupdater in the app drawer it will have the current rom running which he needs to run droidmod. He has to install droidmod because DM cannot "see" other roms except itself and 2.0.1 (no root) which technically is not on the phone anywhere. He will then select 2.0.1 and it will download that file and install it. BAM----back to stock---but will be minus the voice search.

    To get the voice search back he will need to "filter all" under apps and remove the "com.google.voicesearch" file and reboot. Once that is done the voice search is back and just like any other stock 2.0.1 phone