How do I get back to a stock recovery in order to accept OTA?

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by amajamar, Jun 3, 2012.

  1. amajamar
    Offline

    amajamar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone is asking me every 30 seconds to upgrade. It won't install, because I believe that the CWM recovery is preventing it. I do not have an alternate recovery in CWM, so no luck there. I am running stock, rooted, installed with the Wug tool.

    Do I just unroot with the Wug tool or is there a better (easier!) solution?

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. steveil
    Offline

    steveil Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Curious about this also.
     
  3. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,436
    Likes Received:
    600
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +608
    I'm sure you could use wug's toolkit. I use this to go back to stock: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/showthread.php?t=188161
    [How To] Return your Galaxy Nexus to 100% Stock, Locked Bootloader

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus using Xparent ICS
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2012
  4. amajamar
    Offline

    amajamar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got it handled. I needed to use Wug's tool to flash the stock recovery (which is downloaded when installing Wug's the first time.) The update installed immediately after doing so. I suppose I can re flash cwm now. Wug's tool is really great, it can do whatever I need anyway. One thing, I did lose root, however, I did use Rootkeeper and it fixed it instantly.
     
  5. MikeSkillZ
    Offline

    MikeSkillZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im having the same problem, I have CWM flashed. So it wont accept the OTA to JB. But i have a mac and the link mentioned above is for PC. Can i get some help?

    I was rooted. I went back to 4.0.4. and relocked bootloader. Just need to get back to stock recovery, i think...
     
  6. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +48
    You know how to use fastboot? Just fastboot the stock recovery img

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. MikeSkillZ
    Offline

    MikeSkillZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i kinda know how to use it from the terminal...im just trying to find the stock image now

    i just flash it through fastboot right?
     
  8. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +48
    Yes.

    Fastboot flash recovery recovery.img

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  9. MikeSkillZ
    Offline

    MikeSkillZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok im going to give it hell right now ... this is really pissing me off
     
  10. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +48
    Let me know how it goes. On a Mac I think you need to preface your fastboot as:

    ./fastboot

    If you run into problems, I'm happy to help. I use Linux so a lot of the commands are similar.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  11. MikeSkillZ
    Offline

    MikeSkillZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok just did that...went to go into recovery and it took me to the dead droid with a ! screen :/
     
  12. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +48
    This?

    [​IMG]

    That's stock recovery.
     
  13. MikeSkillZ
    Offline

    MikeSkillZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes thats the screen....ok so thats stock recovery?? so i should be good to go ahead and restart the phone? and that brings me completely stock?? relock bootloader of course...but i should be good ?
     
  14. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +48
    You don't need to relock the bootloader if you don't want to. Should be able to just reboot. Take the OTA once it's downloaded and you should be good. Assuming you haven't removed any system apps and still have the stock kernel.
     
  15. MikeSkillZ
    Offline

    MikeSkillZ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i dont think ive removed any system apps...lol and i hope im on the stock kernel. Thanks for the help. it was that stupid fastboot command, i forgot to type recovery twice...*facepalm*
     
Search tags for this page
flash stock recovery
,
flash stock recovery galaxy nexus
,
galaxy nexus flash stock recovery
,

galaxy nexus stock recovery

,
how to flash stock recovery
,
how to get back stock recovery
,
how to get stock recovery back
,
how to go back to stock recovery
,
how to return to stock recovery
,
stock recovery