How do I do a soft reset with ICS?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by DethDroid, Jul 23, 2012.

  1. DethDroid

    DethDroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Boards...it's been a while and I hope everyone is doing well. I can't seem to find an answer to this question...how do I do a soft reset now that pwr/vol down is screen capture?
    Also I have seen a lot of talk of doing factory resets after the update to clear up some of the glitches. Is this recommended? Will a factory reset harm my SD card and should I remove it first? I am having trouble figuring out how to get pictures I download/save from text messages to my SD card. My camera is set to store all pictures on the SD card but other stuff I am just not sure. I went into MyFiles and chose to move them but then I don't know where they moved to...I am really frustrated and confused lol so any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Caesars

    Caesars Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +46
    It's still power/volume down ;)

    Edit: the soft reset that is ^^

    Googorola MAXX
     
  3. DethDroid

    DethDroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well I tried that and got a nice picture of my home screen...not sure what I am doing wrong :blink:
     
  4. Caesars

    Caesars Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +46
    Just hold it longer hehe, it will work :)

    Googorola MAXX
     
  5. DethDroid

    DethDroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +2
    Will do thanks...any answers on my other questions? I cleared the cache and that seems to have helped with a few issues.
     
  6. JohnnytheK

    JohnnytheK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,377
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +35
    Yeah hold it for 10 seconds, which can feel like a real long time.
     
  7. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,664
    Likes Received:
    382
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +414
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    If you press volume down first, and then the power button you will bypass the screen shot. Just FYI
     
  8. SallyC

    SallyC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,220
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +62
    For the soft reset, if you keep getting a screenshot, try holding the power down button a second before you add the power button. Sometimes it just takes a little finagling.

    When doing the FDR you should get a question about if you want to wipe the internal memory and also the external card. Also beware that the phone has two SD card directories: sdcard (internal memory) and sdcard-ext (your SD card). Some folks remove the external before doing a FDR to be sure nothing happens to it. I didn't and mine was okay, but you will want to be aware of this. If you have files installed and configured I'd make a back up on your pc of both directories as it may safe you some grief later on.

    I find moving things with MyFiles frustrating. You might want to look at ES File Explorer. Once installed go to Menu>Settings>and check Up to Root. I also changed Home Directory to / so that I have access to all folders.
     
  9. rosariorose9

    rosariorose9 Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Definitely recommend you do an FDR. I avoided doing it for quite a while (didn't want to go through the hassle of re-installing my apps), but I'm SO glad I finally did it. All of the problems I was having - including my Maxx's screen spontaneously turning on, and really poor battery life - totally resolved. My phone is now back to its original sterling self!!
     
  10. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13,990
    Likes Received:
    1,944
    Trophy Points:
    693
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +2,161
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    And if your going to do and fdr, do two..it will ensure a clean wipe and install..

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
     
  11. DethDroid

    DethDroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +2
    Are you saying that I will need to re-install ICS?
     
Search tags for this page
android ics soft reset
,
droid 4 soft reset
,

droid razr maxx soft reset

,
droid razr soft reset
,
how to do a soft reset on droid razr maxx
,

razr maxx soft reset

,
soft reset droid 4
,
soft reset droid bionic
,

soft reset droid razr maxx

,
soft reset droid razr maxx ics