how did i loose my root?

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by pookie025, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. pookie025

    pookie025 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i was therthing and the whole 9... tried to upload a gingerbread rom from rom manager didnt wipe cache and now i lost the root? wtf!!
     
  2. pookie025

    pookie025 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    and my clock says 556 right now wtf
     
  3. pookie025

    pookie025 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump! Any more help
     
  4. ekf028

    ekf028 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere in Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +1
    There are two gb roms floating out there (for the droid x), one is rooted the other is not. To flash the rooted version you have to sbf back to the stock. 340 version, reroot and flash as normal

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  5. ekf028

    ekf028 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere in Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +1
    ^guess I should have asked this first, what phone is it?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  6. pookie025

    pookie025 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thunderbolt lol thunderbolt section
     
  7. mark3748

    mark3748 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's no working GB rom for TB, you won't have any data yet.

    The rom you flashed is just missing SU and the superuser app, restore a backup or throw a working rom on in CWR.
     
  8. ekf028

    ekf028 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere in Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +1
    Oops. Using the android app, just showed up in the "latest" section.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  9. pookie025

    pookie025 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ROM manager won't allow me to make a new Rom or boot to recovery because its missing root and Su should I just reboot
     
  10. mkjellgren

    mkjellgren Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    First of all there are no GB roms in ROM manager for the tbolt. There is a GB theme for sense roms but no GB roms. As the previous poster said, the only current GB rom is more of a proof of concept at this point than anything else and obviously is not available in ROM manager. To fix your root situation you can try clicking on the problems button in titanium backup to reinstall busybox and upgrade su. If that doesn't work turn the phone off and turn it back on while holding volume down. This should boot you into cwr. From there you should be able to flash a backup.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
    #10 mkjellgren, Mar 31, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2011
  11. sk8

    sk8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Omaha Nebraska
    Ratings:
    +0
    @mk
    When I boot to hboot (power and volume down) it goes to the white screen then starts to load the pg05img.zip then asks me if I want to update. do I need to run the update again or remove the pg05img.zip to have access to the other options?

    sent from a sweet paper weight.
     
  12. pookie025

    pookie025 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    any one who has this issue repeat step 7 of the root process